Ungifted

Ungifted

by Gordon Korman

Paperback(Reprint)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Ungifted by Gordon Korman

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel in which one middle-school troublemaker accidentally moves into the gifted and talented program—and changes everything.

For fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos, this funny and touching underdog story is a lovable and goofy adventure with robot fights, middle-school dances, live experiments, and statue-toppling pranks!

When Donovan Curtis pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he’s finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a special program for gifted and talented students.

Although it wasn’t exactly what Donovan had intended, the ASD couldn’t be a more perfectly unexpected hideout for someone like him. But as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything), he shows that his gifts may be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed.

Don't miss the sequel to this word-of-mouth hit: Supergifted! This funny and heartwarming sequel to Ungifted cleverly sends up our preconceived ideas about intelligence, heroism, and popularity.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061742675
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/18/2014
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 11,229
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.60(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Gordon Korman wrote his first book at age fourteen and since then has written more than eighty-five middle grade and teen novels. Favorites include the New York Times bestselling Ungifted, Supergifted, Pop, and Schooled. Gordon is also the author of Masterminds and Masterminds: Criminal Destiny. He lives with his family on Long Island, New York. You can visit him online at www.gordonkorman.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ungifted 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 166 reviews.
mrsvaljones More than 1 year ago
Donovan Curtis is the troublemaker of Hardcastle Middle School and can often be found at the creation of mischief and chaos. But one day he goes too far, his prank causes damage that no amount of detention will solve. But due to a mistake, rather than punishment, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a school for the gifted and talented students. It is the perfect hide out, where no one would think to look for him, but he is completely out of his element, surrounded by peers who’s IQ are off the charts. He tries to fake his way to acceptance, but soon everyone is on to him. Donovan is not gifted at all, he’s normal. But despite his rather normal IQ, Donovan offers the students at the Academy of Scholastic Distinction something they can’t learn at school, and exactly what they need. Written in short chapters, each from the view of several different characters, Korman creates a great storyline decorated with unique characters. Ungifted is as much about growing up and trying to fit in as it is about friendship in the most unlikely circumstances. As the author of over 70 novels, Korman does not disappoint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is creative and good. I highly reccomend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldnt put down. There should be a sequel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought that it was a great book and was written by a great author. My favorite part was when he first drove tin man. Overall I think it was a very good book that didn't have many bad parts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fun book and has a lot of emotion. It kept me guessing as to what would happen next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book grabbed my attention from the very beginning. It starts off by telling what a terrible disaster this kid did to the school, and accidentally got put in the gifted program (and went to a special school). He begins to bond with the geniuses, all the while hiding from the super-intendent of his old school who put his name on the wrong list. I reccomend this book to anyone in 4th through 8th grade that likes humor and suspense in books. The ending wasn't my favorite... but the rest of the book made me love it. ***Just to let everyone know, each chapter has another person telling the story--that confused me ***
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think that this book is good but i know people say that you should never judge a book by its cover but it is a robot and then it says " Ungifted" and i just think that it will be a good book to read. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a really good book i loved it! Everyone should read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is really funny!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book went beyond my expectations! When I read a book that sounds and looks interesting, I get way too excited! If yout not sure with reading this book, I'm telling you to start reading NOW and don't STOP!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This 160 page book reminded me of the WHIMPY KID SERIES. It is for middle schoolers or tweens, which ever you prefer to call this age group. It is a stand alone book, very well edited, and a lot of fun to read. It cost $1.99, which is one and a third cents per page, so there is entertainment value. There is a lot going on in this book. There is the bad boy, class clown. The reader can watch him grow and evolve into a much more mature and caring individual as the book progresses. This book is poignant and laugh out loud funny at times. I felt so sorry for the patrents when they found out what they were so proud of was created by an accident of fate. Yet it made Donovan a better person. I loved Kate, what she dud for her brother was remarkable. Recommended for readers 10 years old to 14. I am a grand mother and I enjoyed it also. So it is also for those young at heart. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Square peg meet round holes and tries to fit in. Average kid forms alliances then friendhips with his genius betters. Who is the smart one? Excellent ending which follows a solid beginning and strong start. Well written and I highly recommend this book be placed in middle schools teacher libraries. It would make a gr.eat book for most character trait book months. Lots of social lessons.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
all of our family enjoys this book! it is rarely on the bookshelf.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Triple Awesome Book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Super Funny
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wonder if it is good it looks good and funny
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is the best. You will laugh and enjoy this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is truly a masterpiece, a true work of art in words. This is a beautiful story that i call inspiring. Just reading this book is qiute an expirence in itself!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was excellent! I wish it was longer... maybe even a second book in the future I hope? Though the book is about a middle school student it can be read by someone who is not. The humor is appropriate which I enjoyed a bunch. Believe it or not, but sometimes I caught myself using the dictionary for some of these HUGE words!! One again, this book was overall excellent and i hope there will be more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Your rating has consequences. When you only give a book one star, it makes it appear less-appealing to reaaders looking for a way to find out how well other readers have enjoyed the book. Your poor rating brings down the overall ranking of the piece. It may turn away people who might have really loved it. It is damaging! BTW, THIS IS A LIGHT , fun, funny book for kids of ALL ages. I definitely recommend it! KD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books ive ever read.you have to read it now.its worth the money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a good read for kids