A Voyage for Madmen

A Voyage for Madmen

by Peter Nichols
A Voyage for Madmen

A Voyage for Madmen

by Peter Nichols

Paperback(Reprint)

$18.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 7

Overview

“An extraordinary story of bravery and insanity on the high seas. . . . One of the most gripping sea stories I have ever read.” — Sebastian Junger, author of The Perfect Storm

In the tradition of Into Thin Air and The Perfect Storm, comes a breathtaking oceanic adventure about an obsessive desire to test the limits of human endurance.

In 1968 nine sailors set off on the most daring race ever held and never before completed: to single-handedly circumnavigate the globe nonstop. Ten months later, only one of the nine men would cross the finish line and earn fame, wealth, and glory. For the others, the reward was madness, failure, and death.

Gorgeously written and meticulously researched by author Peter Nichols, this extraordinary book chronicles the contest of the individual against the sea, waged at a time before cell phones, satellite dishes, and electronic positioning systems. A Voyage for Madmen is a tale of sailors driven by their own dreams and demons, of horrific storms, and of those riveting moments when a decision means the difference between life and death.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780060957032
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/04/2002
Series: Harper Perennial
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 70,405
Product dimensions: 5.31(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.76(d)

About the Author

Peter Nichols is the author of the national bestseller A Voyage for Madmen and two other books, Sea Change: Alone Across the Atlantic in a Wooden Boat, a memoir, and the novel Voyage to the North Star. He has taught creative writing at NYU in Paris and Georgetown University, and presently teaches at Bowdoin College. He is lives in Maine with his wife and son.

What People are Saying About This

Sebastian Junger

“Extraordinary ...One of the most gripping sea stories I have ever read.”

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items