Waterspell Book 1: The Warlock

Waterspell Book 1: The Warlock

by Deborah J. Lightfoot
Waterspell Book 1: The Warlock

Waterspell Book 1: The Warlock

by Deborah J. Lightfoot



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


Waterspell Book 1: The Warlock

Making a place for yourself in a world where you don't belong takes courage. So does moving in with a warlock.

Drawn into the schemes of an angry wizard, Carin glimpses the place she once called home. It lies upon a shore that seems unreachable. To learn where she belongs and how to get there, the lost traveler must decipher the words of an alien book, follow the clues in a bewitched poem, conjure a dragon from a pool of magic—and tread carefully around a tortured, emotionally scarred sorcerer who can't seem to decide whether to love her or kill her. This is Book 1 of a series. The story continues in Books 2–4: The Wysard, The Wisewoman, and The Witch. The family saga carries on into the next generation with The Karenina Chronicles (Book 5).

"A marvelously complex and captivating fantasy series." —The Published Page

"An extremely well written fantasy story ... flows well with a very readable style that holds your interest throughout. The world building is solid and intriguing, the magical aspects well drawn and versatile and characterisation is energetic so that you are immediately invested in their future. All in all a marvellous addition to the fantasy genre and I would recommend it for lovers of magical mystical tales." —Liz Wilkins

"Wonderfully written. I was hooked right away and loved that I couldn't predict what was to come next. 5 out of 5 stars! Highly recommend to young adults and older." —Memories Overtaking Me

"The story just keeps getting bigger and bigger." —Book Briefs

"What a brilliant and unforgettable story! I devoured this book ... literally consumed by the originality and depth Deborah brings to her characters. She provides a strong balance between action, adventure, fantasy, and romance and Carin's combination of pride and vulnerability make her a fabulous character!" —Lady Vigilante

"Intriguing ... original ... well-crafted." —Kirkus

Product Details

BN ID: 2940032874225
Publisher: Seven Rivers Publishing
Publication date: 11/13/2011
Series: Waterspell
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: eBook
Sales rank: 19,520
File size: 715 KB
Age Range: 13 Years

About the Author

Castles in the cornfield provided the setting for Deborah J. Lightfoot’s earliest flights of fancy. On her father’s farm in Texas, she grew up reading tales of adventure and reenacting them behind ramparts of sun-drenched grain. She left the farm to earn a degree in journalism and write award-winning books of history and biography. High on her bucket list was the desire to try her hand at the genre she most admired. The result is Waterspell, a complex, intricately detailed fantasy comprising the original four-book series (Warlock, Wysard, Wisewoman, Witch). New in 2023, The Karenina Chronicles is the first book in a new series also set in the Waterspell universe.

Having discovered this world, the author finds it difficult to leave.

Deborah is a professional member of The Authors Guild. She lives in the country near Fort Worth, Texas. Find her on Instagram @booksofwaterspell and peruse her overflowing, catch-all website at waterspell.net.

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews