When You Were New

When You Were New

When You Were New

When You Were New

Hardcover

$17.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

For fans of Dear Girl and Guess How Much I Love You, this picture book celebrates the joys of early childhood and all the first-time experiences that are exciting for parents and children, including beach days, befriending the family dog, story time on the couch, and so much more!

This book feels like a giant hug and makes the ideal gift for Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, graduation, and baby showers! The sweet lyrical text reminds readers that their parents’ love will always stay with them, no matter where they are.

When you were new, there were things you didn’t know.

The magic of being new is experiencing the world for the first time, learning that cuddles smell different at the beach—like coconut, salt, and sand—or realizing it’s hard to pick raspberries without eating at least one. Get swept up in the magic and wonder of seeing the world through the eyes of a child, and treasure the perfect, golden moments you share together.

Jennifer Harris’s lyrical and achingly precise text and Lenny Wen’s heartwarming illustrations celebrate that special love and connection between you and your new one.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780063137196
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: 03/21/2023
Pages: 32
Product dimensions: 8.00(w) x 10.00(h) x (d)
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

About the Author

Jennifer Harris lives in Waterloo, Ontario with her husband and children, in a little storybook house. Despite the overloaded shelves, they all firmly believe there’s always room for one more book. When You Were New is Jennifer’s second picture book, after She Stitched the Stars: A Story of Ellen Harding Baker’s Solar System Quilt. She’s also a published poet and the author of numerous essays. When not writing or reading—or thinking about chocolate—Jennifer teaches English at the University of Waterloo. You can visit her at www.mypbjam.com.


Lenny Wen is the illustrator of several picture books, including her own Wolfgang in the Meadow and Spicy Spicy Hot! Lenny was born and raised in Indonesia and currently lives in the Austrian countryside, surrounded by nature and a castle. You can visit her at lennywen.com. 

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews