.
Where We Used to Roam

Where We Used to Roam

by Jenn Bishop

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 14

Overview

In this powerful middle grade novel from the acclaimed author of Things You Can’t Say, a young girl navigates the social growing pains of middle school and struggles to find her place while her older brother fights to overcome opioid addiction—perfect for fans of The Seventh Wish and Waiting for Normal.

When Emma starts sixth grade, things finally begin to change. She may still be in the shadow of her older brother, Austin, the popular high school quarterback, but she’s made artsy new friends who get her way more than her bookish best friend, Becca.

But things are changing for Austin, too. After undergoing surgery for a football injury, Austin has become addicted to opioid painkillers. By the end of the school year, everything blows up with Austin—and Becca. When their parents decide to send Austin to rehab and Emma to stay with family friends in Wyoming for the summer, Emma seizes the chance to get away.

Wyoming turns out to be a perfect fresh start, especially after Emma makes friends with Tyler, a kindred spirit who doesn’t judge her—then again, he doesn’t know what she did to Becca. Still, Emma can’t hide forever...or go back to the way things were with Austin or with Becca. But can she find a way to confront the truth and move forward?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781534457294
Publisher: Aladdin
Publication date: 03/23/2021
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 336,246
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.40(d)
Lexile: 640L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Jenn Bishop is the author of the middle grade novels Things You Can’t Say, 14 Hollow Road, The Distance to Home, and Where We Used to Roam. She grew up in Massachusetts and as a college student spent one incredible summer in Wyoming. She has been obsessed with bison ever since. After working as a children’s librarian, she received her MFA in writing for children and young adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Jenn currently calls Cincinnati, Ohio, home. Visit her online at JennBishop.com.

Customer Reviews