Wherever I Wind Up: My Quest for Truth, Authenticity, and the Perfect Knuckleball

Wherever I Wind Up: My Quest for Truth, Authenticity, and the Perfect Knuckleball

Wherever I Wind Up: My Quest for Truth, Authenticity, and the Perfect Knuckleball

Wherever I Wind Up: My Quest for Truth, Authenticity, and the Perfect Knuckleball


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, March 4
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The perfect gift for baseball fans, now with a new epilogue by author R.A. Dickey, winner of the 2012 Cy Young award. 

"An astounding memoir—haunting and touching, courageous and wise."—Jeremy Schaap, bestselling author, Emmy award-winning journalist, ESPN

In 1996, R.A. Dickey was the Texas Rangers’ much-heralded No. 1 draft choice. Then, a routine physical revealed that his right elbow was missing its ulnar collateral ligament, and his lifelong dream—along with his $810,000 signing bonus—was ripped away. Yet, despite twice being consigned to baseball’s scrap heap, Dickey battled back. Sustained by his Christian faith, the love of his wife and children, and a relentless quest for self-awareness, Dickey is now the starting pitcher for the Toronoto Blue Jays (he was previously a star pitcher for the New York Mets) and one of the National League’s premier players, as well as the winner of the 2012 Cy Young award.

In Wherever I Wind Up, Dickey eloquently shares his quintessentially American tale of overcoming extraordinary odds to achieve a game, a career, and a life unlike any other.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780452299016
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/26/2013
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 1,128,979
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

R.A. Dickey of the Toronto Blue Jays is one of the premier pitchers in baseball.  In 2012 while playing for the New York Mets, he became the first knuckleballer to win the National League Cy Young Award, major league baseball’s highest honor for a pitcher.  He has also written for the New York Times and is working on a young adult edition of Wherever I Wind Up and two children’s books. When not on the road with his team, Dickey lives in Tennessee with his wife and four children.

Wayne Coffey is an award-winning journalist for the New York Daily News and the author of more than thirty books, including The Boys of Winter, a New York Times bestselling chronicle of the 1980 U.S. Olympic hockey team. A three-time Pulitzer nominee, he has long been regarded as one of best sports feature writers in the nation. 

Table of Contents

Prologue: The Worst Night I Ever Had 1

Chapter 1 Plastic Spoon 15

Chapter 2 Summer of '83 29

Chapter 3 Faith on Walnut 39

Chapter 4 The Wolf of Green Hills 53

Chapter 5 Volunteering for Duty 73

Chapter 6 Cover Story 87

Chapter 7 The Lone Ranger 105

Chapter 8 Minor Achievement 113

Chapter 9 Showtime 129

Chapter 10 Requiem for My Fastball 147

Chapter 11 Redhawk Redux 157

Chapter 12 The World According to Charlie 165

Chapter 13 Knuckleballer Non Grata 179

Chapter 14 The Bottom 191

Chapter 15 Into the Missouri 203

Chapter 16 Sounds of the Moment 221

Chapter 17 Rule Five Surprise 239

Chapter 18 Getting My Phil 259

Chapter 19 Citi Dweller 279

Chapter 20 Fingernails in Flushing 295

Chapter 21 Unbroken Moments 307

Epilogue: Summits 329

Acknowledgments 343

Index 347

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"R.A. Dickey's book is unlike any other professional athlete's autobiography you have ever read. And that is a very good thing." —Mike Bauman, MLB.com

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews