Wolfie and Fly

Wolfie and Fly

Paperback(Reprint)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 20

Overview

A classic story of imagination, friendship, adventure and speeding through the ocean in a cardboard box. For fans of Ivy & BeanJudy Moody or Nate the Great.


     Wolfie and Fly is an early chapter book at its simplest and best. Our heroine, Renata Wolfman (Wolfie) does everything by herself. Friends just get in the way, and she only has time for facts and reading. But friendship finds her in the form of Livingston Flott (Fly), the slightly weird and wordy boy from next door. Before she knows it, Wolfie is motoring through deep water with Fly as her second-in-command in a submarine made from a cardboard box. 

     Out on a solo swim to retrieve a baseball vital to the mission, Wolfie is finally by herself again, but for the first time, she finds it a little lonely. Maybe there is something to this friend thing. . .

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101919392
Publisher: Tundra
Publication date: 01/09/2018
Series: Wolfie and Fly Series , #1
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 96
Sales rank: 593,723
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.00(h) x 0.40(d)
Lexile: 460L (what's this?)
Age Range: 7 - 10 Years

About the Author

CARY FAGAN is an award-winning author for children and adults. His kids' books include the popular Kaspar Snit novels, the two-volume Master Melville's Medicine Show, and the picture book Mr. Zinger's Hat, winner of the Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award and the IODE Jean Throop Award. He has also won the Jewish Book Award and been shortlisted for the Silver Birch Award (five times), the Rocky Mountain Book Award (twice), the Hackmatack Award (twice), the Norma Fleck Award, the Shining Willow Award and others. Cary lives in Toronto with his family.

ZOE SI a cartoonist, freelance illustrator and lawyer. She believes in the power of words, but also that wherever words fail, a mildly disparaging cartoon can usually succeed. Wolfie and Fly is Zoe's first book for kids. She lives and works in beautiful British Columbia.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Wolfie and Fly 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
Wolfie and Fly is an early chapter book about friendship and imagination. Renata Wolfman (Wolfie also known as The Lone Wolf) does everything by herself. She does not go outside, hates to shop and does not even go to her uncle's retirement party. Her parents want her to invite the neighbour over, Livingston Flott (Fly) but she does not want to have anything to do with him. All she wants to do is read, learn facts and make things. When she is left home alone one day, she decides to make a submarine out of the refrigerator box in the basement. When Fly comes banging at her door looking for refuge from his angry brother, Wolfie reluctantly lets him in. What happens next is a surprise to Wolfie. After modifying the submarine, they suddenly find themselves in water, floating out the window and into the ocean. They have a fun and exciting adventure. When her parents return home they are delighted to see she has a friend. Wolfie won't go as far as to admit that Fly is a friend, but she agrees to have more adventures with him. A cute story for those beginning to read Chapter Books. It is an adventure that is sure to please both boys and girls. A great addition to a classroom or school library. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley.
KateUnger More than 1 year ago
This book is really chapter book, the first in a new series. Renata Wolfman (Wolfie) is happy without friends. She loves being alone and reading about life in the ocean. She doesn't know how to play pretend. She's very logical. When she's forced to play with Livingston Flott (Fly) from next door, they create an excellent submarine out of a refrigerator box. Fly teaches Wolfie how to play pretend, but they're in for a surprise when they take the submarine on its maiden voyage. Somehow they're in the real ocean! With short chapters and great adventure, this book is a perfect read for children ages 5-8 who enjoy contemporary or fantasy stories - it's kind of a mix of both. It's a great story for boys and girls. Wolfie is a little sassy to her parents in the beginning of the book, but otherwise it's just pure fun. A great friendship story and a great beginning to a fun new series. http://www.momsradius.com/2017/01/book-review-wolfie-and-fly-chapter-book.html