B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Yoga Through the Year: A Seasonal Approach to Your Practice

Yoga Through the Year: A Seasonal Approach to Your Practice

by Jilly Shipway


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 7


Create a Powerful Connection Between Yoga and the Wheel of the Year

Find balance in your yoga practice and your life by connecting with nature and the cycle of the seasons. Yoga Through the Year reimagines yoga as a way to unite complimentary opposites—heaven and earth, sun and moon, male and female. Providing inspiration, guidance, and more than 100 illustrations, this book shows you how to work with the prevalent energy of each season and develop an authentic practice that makes you happier and healthier.

Learn how to best work with the challenges and opportunities present throughout the wheel of the year. Explore mindfulness exercises, visualizations, meditations, and yoga poses and sequences that are specially designed for each season. This remarkable book's approach can be personalized to fit your needs all year long. With it, you can develop your own rhythm in response to each seasonal change.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780738756912
Publisher: Llewellyn Worldwide, LTD.
Publication date: 07/08/2019
Pages: 216
Product dimensions: 7.40(w) x 9.20(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Jilly Shipway (Shropshire, UK) is a qualified British Wheel of Yoga teacher with more than thirty years of teaching experience. She has been studying the chakras and integrating chakra-inspired yoga practices into her own home practice and her yoga classes and courses for more than twenty years. Jilly regularly contributes to various publications including Yoga Magazine, Spirit and Destiny magazine, Llewellyn's Witches’ Datebook, and Llewellyn's Moon Sign Book. Visit her at www.ChakrasForCreativity.com.

Table of Contents


List of Exercises xiii

Acknowledgments xv

Introduction: Returning Unity to Yoga with the Seasons 1

Chapter One: The Seasonal Yoga Practice 11

Chapter Two: Spring Equinox 25

Chapter Three: Spring Turns to Summer 41

Chapter Four: Summer Solstice 59

Chapter Five: Summer Turns to Autumn 77

Chapter Six: Autumn Equinox 97

Chapter Seven: Autumn Turns to Winter 113

Chapter Eight: Winter Solstice 133

Chapter Nine: Winter Turns to Spring 149

Conclusion: Every Ending Is a New Beginning 165

Bibliography 167

Recommended Resources 171

Customer Reviews