Eskkar & Trella - The Beginning [NOOK Book]

Overview

Eskkar & Trella – The Beginning (645 pages) – is the latest novel in Sam Barone’s five part series, a bronze age historical saga in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Jean Auel.

In Dawn of Empire, Eskkar the warrior and Trella the keen-witted slave girl come together in a mighty struggle to survive a barbarian invasion and build mankind’s first walled ...
See more details below
Eskkar & Trella - The Beginning

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price

Overview

Eskkar & Trella – The Beginning (645 pages) – is the latest novel in Sam Barone’s five part series, a bronze age historical saga in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Jean Auel.

In Dawn of Empire, Eskkar the warrior and Trella the keen-witted slave girl come together in a mighty struggle to survive a barbarian invasion and build mankind’s first walled city.

But Eskkar’s story began many years earlier, when his family was brutally murdered in a blood feud. His name and heritage obliterated, young Eskkar flees his clan and the only life he knows. Condemned as an outcast, he learns to survive, hunted by his own kind, and hated and feared by all others.

For fifteen years, Eskkar wanders the Land Between The Rivers, home of his hereditary enemies, fighting to stay alive and to reach manhood. All the while he is learning the skills that will one day make him not only a true warrior, but a leader of men on and off the battlefield.

Trella, too, witnesses her family destroyed in a single night of vengeance, and her life of ease and privilege lost. Captured and sold to a slave trader, she must use her keen mind, extraordinary perception, and perfect memory to regain control of her life. While appearing to serve her masters, Trella learns to manipulate the powerful men who now own her body. Soon she becomes the unseen influence whose knowledge and training guide the way to the founding of an empire.

Eskkar and Trella join together and form a unique bond that enables them to overcome the limits their world has placed upon them.

These are the stories of their journeys toward one another and to their shared destiny – an enduring love that changes civilization forever.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Jason Frost
OK, I’ll admit that this was another one of those books that I immediately bought within five minutes of getting an eMail from the author telling me about it. I’ve been a huge fan of Sam Barone ever since ‘Dawn of Empire’. ‘Dawn’ was published in 2006 and here I am six years later still excited to be reading about this series. That says a lot. ‘Eskkar & Trella’ is the fourth book of the series but it’s also a prequel to the other
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940014476935
  • Publisher: Sam Barone
  • Publication date: 3/11/2012
  • Series: Eskkar Saga , #4
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 659
  • Sales rank: 325,407
  • File size: 558 KB

Meet the Author

Born and raised in Queens, New York, Sam Barone graduated from Manhattan College with a BS degree. After a hitch in the Marine Corps, he entered the world of technology.
In 1999, after thirty years developing software, he retired from Western Union International, as VP of International Systems. He moved to Scottsdale, Arizona, to take up his second career as a writer.
Seven years later, the author’s first Eskkar story, Dawn of Empire was published in the USA and UK. It has since been released worldwide.
History and reading have always been two of Sam’s favorite interests, and he considers himself more of a storyteller than a writer. “I write stories that I would enjoy reading, and it’s a true blessing that others have found these tales interesting, informative, and entertaining.”
Sam and his wife, Linda, along with their two cats (Minga and Norton) have recently moved and enjoy a quieter life in Prescott, Arizona.
His books have been published in nine languages, and he receives correspondence from all over the world. Sam enjoys hearing from his readers, and invites them to visit www.sambarone.com.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    Excellant Read

    Interesting look into this time period and plenty of action. Will probably purchase the rest of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)