The 13-Story Treehouse

Overview

Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. But it’s not just any old treehouse, it’s the most amazing treehouse in the world!

This treehouse has thirteen stories, a bowling alley, a see-through swimming pool, a secret underground laboratory, and a marshmallow machine that follows you around and automatically shoots marshmallows into your mouth whenever you are hungry.

Life would be perfect for Andy and Terry if it wasn’t for the fact that they have to...

See more details below
The 13-Story Treehouse

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.49
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. But it’s not just any old treehouse, it’s the most amazing treehouse in the world!

This treehouse has thirteen stories, a bowling alley, a see-through swimming pool, a secret underground laboratory, and a marshmallow machine that follows you around and automatically shoots marshmallows into your mouth whenever you are hungry.

Life would be perfect for Andy and Terry if it wasn’t for the fact that they have to write their next book, which is almost impossible because there are just so many distractions, including thirteen flying cats, giant bananas, mermaids, a sea monsters pretending to be mermaids, enormous gorillas, and dangerous burp gas-bubblegum bubbles!

Join the fun with The 13-Story Treehouse by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Anarchic absurdity at its best.... Denton's manic cartooning captures every twist and turn in hilarious detail... a sequel was published last year in Australia and can't arrive soon enough." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Will appeal to fans of Jeff Kinney and Dav Pilkey...The wonderfully random slapstick humor is tailor-made for reluctant readers... A treat for all." —Booklist

"A series starter that will appeal to fans of Jeff Kinney and Dav Pilkey . . . A treat for all . . . And guess what? It makes for good tree house reading." — Booklist

"Fans of Jeff Kinney’s “Diary of a Wimpy Kid”(Abrams) and Lincoln Peirce’s “Big Nate” series (HarperCollins) will be drawn to this book, while parents will enjoy the absence of snarky humor." — School Library Journal

Publishers Weekly
Longtime collaborators Griffiths and Denton (Killer Koalas from Outer Space) get metafictional in their latest book (first published in Australia), and the result is anarchic absurdity at its best. Young buddies Andy and Terry live together in the sort of tree house that kids dream about, complete with bowling alley, shark tank, vines to swing from, and underground laboratory. With so many distractions, is it any wonder that they’re late with the book due to their publisher, Mr. Big Nose? “We were a little behind schedule,” confides Andy. “Well, when I say ‘a little behind schedule,’ I mean a lot behind schedule. And when I say ‘a lot behind schedule,’ I mean a LOT LOT LOT behind schedule.” It’s due tomorrow, but before they can get to work, they have to handle an escaped catnary (a cat turned canary), “burp-gas-filled bubblegum bubbles,” and a horde of destructive monkeys. Denton’s manic cartooning captures every twist and turn in hilarious detail, as babies are pelted with garbage, yapping dogs squashed, and monkeys catapulted into the distance. A sequel was published last year in Australia and can’t arrive soon enough. Ages 8–12. (Apr.)
Children's Literature - Kris Sauer
Imagine this: a room full of pillows; a bowling alley; a lemonade fountain; underground laboratory; man-eating shark tank; see-through swimming pool; game room; theater; and library. The list of what can be found in this amazing 13-story tree house goes on; it is where Andy and Terry live and work, attempting to write a book while getting distracted in the most amazing ways. Take the cat that Terry magically turns into a canary. The "catnary" flies off to have other adventures while Terry and Andy sit down to work on the book that is under deadline. But, wait. Terry's favorite television show is one. We must watch it! Then, the doorbell rings. The mailman has arrived with Terry's sea monkey eggs. Only, it turns out there has been some sort of mistake. No monkeys, only one monster mermaid that is determined to take the boys prisoner in her under seas lair! This and many other escapades await the boys as they attempt to finish their assignment. In the style of "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" and "Dear Dumb Diary" series' this book takes words and pictures to a new, silly, ridiculous level that middle school readers will no doubt devour. Boys in particular will like the burping contests, gross creatures, and ridiculous choices that Terry and Andy make throughout the book. And as if killer mermaids are not enough, there are sea monkeys. And a giant gorilla. And a giant banana. And the return of the catnary. See? Silly, ridiculous fun. Kids will love it. Reviewer: Kris Sauer
School Library Journal
Gr 3–5—Andy and Terry live in a treehouse. In addition to the normal rooms found in a house, it has a theater and library, a bowling alley, and a games room. The boys write and illustrate books, and are far behind on their deadline for their publisher, Mr. Big Nose. They bicker and procrastinate and experience many adventures and misadventures. Wacky stories about flying cats, a monster mermaid, a treehouse full of monkeys, and a banana-seeking giant gorilla will entertain and delight readers. Fun cartoons on every page will engage them and inspire giggles. The situations are described and illustrated so completely that readers will be instantly transported to the fantastic world of the 13-story treehouse. Fans of Jeff Kinney's "Diary of a Wimpy Kid"(Abrams) and Lincoln Peirce's "Big Nate" series (HarperCollins) will be drawn to this book, while parents will enjoy the absence of snarky humor.—Erica Thorsen Payne, Meriwether Lewis Elementary School, Charlottesville, VA
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781250070654
  • Publisher: Square Fish
  • Publication date: 4/7/2015
  • Series: Treehouse Books Series
  • Pages: 272
  • Age range: 6 - 10 Years

Meet the Author

Andy Griffiths is the New York Times bestselling author of What Body Part is That?, Killer Koalas From Outer Space, The Big Fat Cow that Goes Kapow, and The Cat on the Mat is Flat.  He lives in Australia.

Terry Denton has worked with Andy on many books, including Killer Koalas From Outer Space and The Big Fat Cow that Goes Kapow.  He lives in Australia with his wife and three kids.

Read More Show Less

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)