A Buddhist Grief Observed

A Buddhist Grief Observed

by Guy Newland

Paperback

$13.60 $14.95 Save 9% Current price is $13.6, Original price is $14.95. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

A Buddhist Grief Observed by Guy Newland

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps?

“After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart.” —Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism

In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world—from Zen stories and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chödrön and ancient Pali texts—this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one.

“A sad, beautiful, and necessary book—and a map waiting for many who will need it.” —James Ishmael Ford, author of If You’re Lucky Your Heart Will Break

“Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty—and extraordinary compassion.” —Jay L. Garfield, author of Engaging Buddhism

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781614293019
Publisher: Wisdom Publications MA
Publication date: 08/09/2016
Pages: 136
Sales rank: 646,731
Product dimensions: 7.90(w) x 5.00(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Guy Newland is Professor of Religion and Chair of the Department of Philosophy and Religion at Central Michigan University, where he has taught since 1988. He has authored, edited, and translated several books on Tibetan Buddhism, including the three-volume translation of The Great Treatise on the Stages of the Path to Enlightenment and Introduction to Emptiness. Since the loss of his wife Valerie Stephens in 2013, he has expanded his teachings, given to Universities and Dharma centers, which include topics on death, dying, and grief. He lives in Mount Pleasant, MI.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

Pain 5

Intimacy 15

The Great Matter 27

Karma 45

Taking Care 57

Eulogy 81

Resources 91

Acknowledgments 93

Notes 95

About the Author 115

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews