A Child Upon the Throne (The Knights of England Series, Book 4): A Medieval Romance

A Child Upon the Throne (The Knights of England Series, Book 4): A Medieval Romance

by Mary Ellen Johnson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, April 3


As a Kingdom Trembles With Revolt, a Knight and His Lady Must Choose Between Duty and Love in the Medieval Historical Romance, A Child Upon the Throne, by Mary Ellen Johnson

--Medieval England following the death of Edward III in 1377 through the Peasants’ Revolt of 1381--

With a child king upon the throne and England’s lucrative martial victories a faded memory, Knight Matthew Hart wants only to reunite with his long-time lover, Margery Watson, and their son, to live out his days far away from the royal court.

But Margery's loyalties are torn. To settle down with the knight she’s loved since childhood or commit treason and side with the commoners overburdened with servitude and taxes.

When revolt sparks among the masses, thousands march on London, vowing to overthrow all those in power.

Now Margery must choose between her place in society with a knight she loves and her true beliefs about freedom, justice and equality.

From the Publisher: Readers with a passion for history will appreciate the author's penchant for detail and accuracy. In keeping with being authentic to the era, this story contains scenes of brutality which are true to the time and man's inhumanity. There are a limited number of sexual scenes and NO use of modern vulgarity. Fans of Elizabeth Chadwick, Bernard Cornwell and Philippa Gregory as well as Tamara Leigh and Suzan Tisdale will not want to miss this series.

"Author Mary Ellen Johnson strides through history with the reader in the front seat." ~Karen Lausa

". . . it challenged my intellect as well as my heart." ~Margaret Watkins, eBook Discovery Reviewer

From the Author: When crafting a story, I am ever mindful of the parallels between the past and present. Endless wars, indifferent rulers, rising taxes, and corruption, all of which inevitably resulted in a bloody insurrection. An insurrection that, while unsuccessful in the short term, was even referenced by our Founding Fathers during their struggle for freedom. As William Faulkner said, “The past isn’t dead; it’s not even past,” so a knowledge of history is imperative.

THE KNIGHTS OF ENGLAND, in series order

The Lion and the Leopard

A Knight There Was

Within A Forest Dark

A Child Upon The Throne

Lords Among the Ruins

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781947833357
Publisher: ABN Leadership Group, Inc, dba ePublishing Works!
Publication date: 05/11/2018
Series: Knights of England Series , #4
Pages: 286
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.64(d)

About the Author

Mary Ellen Johnson's writing career began with her passion for Medieval England. Then she took a 20-year detour when she got involved in a local murder and ultimately became the Executive Director of The Pendulum Foundation, a non-profit serving kids serving life in prison. With Mary Ellen's goal of sentencing reform nearing successful completion, she is returning to her first love, novel writing.

Customer Reviews