A Lady's Guide to Skirting Scandal: A short story

A Lady's Guide to Skirting Scandal: A short story

by Kelly Bowen

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

2018 RITA award-winning author!
A delightful romp to be read in one sitting - for fans of Sarah MacLean, Julia Quinn, and Tessa Dare.

Lady Viola Hextall is bored - of the sea, her chaperones, and the woeful lack of available dukes on the ocean voyage from London to New York. Scrambling for any diversion short of jumping overboard, Viola strikes up a conversation with the ship's rough-hewn, blue-eyed surgeon - and discovers an immediate cure for what ails her...

To Nathaniel Shaw, Viola has the bearing of a lady and the spirit of an adventurer - an unlikely combination that he finds utterly irresistible. So he's hoping to convince Viola to leave the stifling ballrooms of London high society behind because there is a big, wide world just waiting for them to explore - together.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781455592630
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 08/04/2015
Series: Lords of Worth Series
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 64,674
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

RITA-award winning author Kelly Bowen grew up in Manitoba, Canada. She attended the University of Manitoba and earned a Master of Science degree in veterinary physiology and endocrinology. But it was Kelly's infatuation with history and a weakness for a good love story that led her down the path of historical romance. When she is not writing, she seizes every opportunity to explore ruins and battlefields. Currently, Kelly lives in Winnipeg with her husband and two boys, all of whom are wonderfully patient with the writing process. Except, that is, when they need a goalie for street hockey.
Learn more: www.kellybowen.netTwitter @kellybowen09Facebook.com/AuthorKellyBowen

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Lady's Guide to Skirting Scandal: A short story 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Charming story of a rebellious young lady finding love with a surgeon while crossing the pond from England to New York. I was fascinated with the medical details in the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of this author now and forever?
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
This is book 2.5 in the Lords of Worth series. After trying to trap her brother's best friend into marriage, Viola Hextall has been shipped off to live in New York for a few months. Bored out of her mind on the journey there, she decides to befriend Nathaniel Shaw the surgeon on the ship. Nathaniel is attracted to Viola the first time he sees her, but she can think of nothing but getting back home and marrying someone in the peerage. Convinced that there is more to Viola than she presents to others, he sets out to open her eyes to the bigger world. One in which class distinction is not so important. Can a woman seeking prestige through marriage, fall in love with a lowly doctor? It was an enjoyable short read. I definitely didn't enjoy it as much as the full length novels that Bowen has written but it was nice to see another side of Viola which was definitely NOT apparent in A Good Rogue is Hard to Find. I can't wait to read the next story in the series which features Viola's brother the Earl of Boden. Thanks go out to Grand Central Publishing via NetGalley for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
#2.5 of "The Lords of Worth", but can be read as a stand alone. A Novella. Well worth the time to read, set on a ship bound for the Americas. Ms. Bowen once again showcases her strength in writing. She packed a lot of story in a few pages, only 90+, which brought the reader to a satisfying conclusion of the story. Filled with romance, passion and love. Another Regency Historical Romance from Ms. Bowen with an enjoyable and satisfying ending. A wonderful read from an excellent storyteller! *Received for an honest review from the publisher via Net Gallery* Rating: 4 Heat rating: Mild Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Around 70 pages..was ok...but way to short to get into!
Bookworm2Bookworm More than 1 year ago
Lady Viola Hextall is sailing from England to New York as instructed by her brother to acquire some “life experiences.” It appears that when she did something wrong, her brother, the Earl of Boden, insisted that she not have a season in London, but that she be introduced to society in America. Not at all pleased with this outcome, Viola’s dream has been to marry a Duke and become a Duchess. Of course, she has no particular Duke in mind. That is just her goal. On the ship, Viola is chaperoned by Miss Yates and Miss Woodward who appear more like jailers to her than real women. Also on the ship and tasked with keeping as eye on Viola is a friend of her brother’s, Mr. Nathaniel Shaw. He is a surgeon who was in the Army and is now headed to the Missouri territory in America where he plans to settle. Nathaniel and Viola strike up a conversation and Viola takes an interest in his knowledge of the medical field. Since she doesn’t appear to be squeamish and is truly interested, Nathaniel shares some of his anatomy books with her. When Viola drops by his office, she is fascinated with the medical instruments and wants to learn more. When a ship’s seaman is injured, Viola steps right up and assists Nathaniel with the man’s treatment which impresses Nathaniel immensely. Their togetherness soon grows into an attraction that cannot be denied. What can the future hold for two people poised to go on different paths in life? This is a novella that was well written by the author. I have enjoyed her novels and look forward to reading more.
def618 More than 1 year ago
This is a good short story! We met Viola, determined to marry a duke, in Kelly's first book (I've Got My Duke to Keep Me Warm). Due to her escapades, her brother decides to send her to America for a visit. While on board, she meets and falls in love with the ship's doctor - definitely not a duke! This is the story of growing up and learning what is truly important to you. I liked it!