A Phoenix Rising: The House of the Red Duke

A Phoenix Rising: The House of the Red Duke

by Vivienne Brereton


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18


If I have anything to do with it, we Howards will live forever.

Thomas Howard Charismatic head of one of the most powerful Houses in Tudor England. An indomitable old man approaching eighty: soldier, courtier, politician, a ‘phoenix’ rising from the ashes. After a calamitous period of disgrace, the Howards, renowned for their good looks and charm, are once more riding high at the court of Henry VIII.

Set against the backdrop of the extraordinary 1520 ‘Field of Cloth of Gold’, it is a tale of ambition, love, and intrigue, with Thomas at the centre of this intricate tapestry

Will Thomas’s bold vow be fulfilled? Danger stalks the corridors of the royal courts of Europe. Uneasy lies the head beneath a crown. Every other ruler - a fickle bedfellow…or sworn enemy.

The action takes place in England, Scotland, and France. On either side of the Narrow Sea, four young lives are interwoven, partly unaware of each other, and certainly oblivious to what Dame Fortune has in store for them.

Nicolas de La Barre laid his lute to one side, hardly bothering to stifle a yawn of boredom. Nevertheless, he couldn’t escape the fact he’d agreed to take on a new wife….”

Explosive family secrets are concealed behind the ancient walls of castles in three lands. But… “There are no secrets that time does not reveal.”

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9782956653110
Publisher: Yuletide Press
Publication date: 07/12/2019
Series: House of the Red Duke , #1
Pages: 372
Sales rank: 398,864
Product dimensions: 5.98(w) x 9.02(h) x 0.83(d)

Table of Contents

Historical Background. Houses of Europe. Map of Western Europe circa 1500. British Isles circa 1500. Cornwall circa 1500. Scotland circa 1500. Pale of Calais circa 1500. Sir Gilbert Talbot to Sir Thomas Howard. Prologue. Part One. Field of Gold. Part Two. First Love. Part Three. The Politics of Marriage. Part Four The Tudor Rose Part Five Youth must have some dalliance. Part Six The Christmas Castles Glossary of sixteenth century words and terms. Recipes. Acknowledgements. One last thing. Coming in 2020.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Phoenix Rising: The House of the Red Duke 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Nursebookie 18 days ago
I was always fascinated with the British monarchy especially The TUDORS (Henry VIII and his wives, The Howard Family, The Boleyn Family, The Staffords), The STEWARTS (James IV and Margaret - The King and Queen of Scotland), The VALOIS (Charles VIII, King Louis XII and Anne - King and Queen of France) and finally, the HABSBURG (Maximillian I, The Holy Roman Emperor and Margaret of Austria). This exciting debut novel, A Phoenix Rising Book #1 of The Series House of the Red Duke, by Vivienne Brereton is a well written and well researched Historical Fiction. Brereton as an expert in medieval history was able to capture the rich detail of the Tudor families. In her writing I was taken in and captivated by the details of the stories of these families we have long been fascinated, studied and had been in awe with. The first book goes through 1497 to 1520, with alternating viewpoints from the English, Scottish, French and Habsburg. The book is divided into six parts (Field of Gold, First Love, The Politics of Marriage, The Tudor Rose, Youth Must Have Some Dalliance, and The Christmas Castles), all of which is as exciting as the next as Thomas Howard, from one of the most powerful House in England tries to manipulate the families like a chess board to gain power. Based on real life events, Brereton was able to brilliantly create an exciting historical fiction based on well known players in the British Isles and Europe in the 1500's. I thoroughly enjoyed the bonus of incorporating recipes in the book that have been tried by the author herself - such as Pottage, Cakes and Minced Pie to name a few. This book carries a lot of the themes that are similar to what we would encounter in present day such as power, trust, betrayal and love. An enjoyable book, and Book 2 cannot come soon enough. I received a complimentary copy of the book from the author and opinions are my own.