The second volume to chronicle Agawam’s rich history, Agawam and Feeding Hills Revisited pays close attention to the people who lived and worked in Agawam, from schoolchildren, farmers, police officers, business owners, and mill workers to aeronautical engineer Bob Hall, who designed the ill-fated Bulldog and Cicada racers. Agawam was incorporated as a town in 1855, but its history began with the construction of the first house in 1635. The charm of this town has been preserved here with nearly two hundred vintage images and compelling text.
About the Author
David Cecchi, author of Agawam and Feeding Hills (2000), grew up in Feeding Hills and now lives in Agawam center. Cecchi, chairman of the Agawam Historical Commission for more than a decade, is also a longtime member of the Agawam Historical Association board of directors, a trustee of the Captain Charles Leonard House, and a member of the Agawam Sesquicentennial Committee. Proceeds from the sale of this book will be used to preserve the c. 1757 Thomas Smith House so it may be opened as a museum operated by the Agawam Historical Association.