All Souls' Night

All Souls' Night

by Hugh Walpole


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Walpole's third collection of short fiction, sixteen stories, including several of his best supernatural tales. Walpole's two strongest stories in the genre are Tarnhelm; or, The Death of My Uncle Robert, a strangely moving and poignant werewolf tale told from the point of view of a sensitive little boy; and The Silver Mask, the story of a middle-aged woman's fatal obsession with a sinister and beautiful young man. The Silver Mask is in fact, a masterpiece, a classic example of how a tale can be truly terrible and ghostly with no ghost and only the wispiest hint of the supernatural. Contents: The Whistle, The Silver Mask, The Staircase, A Carnation for an Old Man, Tarnhelm; or, The Death of my Uncle Robert, Mr. Oddy, Seashore Macabre. A Moment's Experience, Lilac, The Oldest Talland, The Little Ghost, Mrs. Lunt, Sentimental but True, Portrait in Shadow, The Snow, The Ruby Glass, Spanish Dusk

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781655115400
Publisher: Independently published
Publication date: 01/04/2020
Pages: 242
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.55(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews