An American in Scotland

An American in Scotland

by Karen Ranney

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 21

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062337528
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/23/2016
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 652,731
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Karen Ranney wanted to be a writer from the time she was five years old and filled her Big Chief tablet with stories. People in stories did amazing things and she was too shy to do anything amazing. Years spent in Japan, Paris, and Italy, however, not only fueled her imagination but proved she wasn't that shy after all.

Now a New York Times and USA Today bestseller, she prefers to keep her adventures between the covers of her books. Karen lives in San Antonio, Texas.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

An American in Scotland 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the story line with a strong female true to her convictions. I almost didn't finish it though. The absolute southern stereotype was disturbing for me. The author left no quarter for a southerner to also be an abolutionist. Hmmm, is she then asserting the underground railroad was operated only by northern transplants? Part of my family has deep southern roots and will tell you they were against slavery. Many were, like most things there are no absolutes. I would have written in strong supporting roles for 1 or 2 locals who helped get her slaves to freedom.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
#3 in "The Maciain" series, but can be read as a stand alone. This is Rose and Duncan' story, and a story that crosses an Ocean, from Scotland to the Americas during the Civil War. Filled with desperation, risk, deceit, danger, passion, slavery, mystery, a bit of suspense, sea adventure, and the premise of love. A bit slow in the beginning but picks up nicely. More Historical Fiction than Historical Romance. Ms. Raney has done lots of research into Civil War issues, and the consequences of war, which shows in the descriptions, the struggles, the turmoil, and the bitterness she has shown in some of her characterizations and the storyline. Can Rose and Duncan found HEA after so much turmoil? Fans of Historical Fiction, Civil war issues, with some romance, mystery and suspense blended into the mixture, will enjoy this story. An enjoyable read! *Received for an honest review from the publisher via Edelweiss* Rating: 4 Heat rating: Mild Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
gaele More than 1 year ago
The third book in this series that uses the backdrop of the American Civil War as an entrée into Scottish society and trade. Each story does stand alone, providing a clear plot for each of the protagonists who are linked by trade and mercenary interest until love enters the picture. By 1863, the Confederacy was low on funds, people were struggling to survive under restrictions and blockades and Rose is determined to keep her sister’s family alive. Posing as a widow arriving on the doorstep of her brother-in-law’s relations. She is determined to bring back money and trade guarantees for the cotton grown in the South Carolina plantation. Duncan McIain is a successful businessman, convinced that Rose is family and a profit can be made, if only the matter of war, trade embargoes and blockades can be avoided. Nearly all of the drama and conflict in this story is provided by background elements of war and political climate, not from the intended pairing of Rose and Duncan. These two show an instant attraction, tempered only with Rose’s early reluctance to fall too far. After a lengthy voyage where the two actually started to become closer and more connected, the story winds through the Bahamas and on through the blockade only to arrive in a Charleston devastated by war and fire. Confronted with the realities that war has wrought, a despicable human being in Duncan’s cousin / Rose’s brother in law and the devastation around them, the two bond even closer together to convince a family, which wants no help, to accept it. History provides a solid backdrop to this story, while framing the romance without taking precedence. Rose and Duncan are wonderfully well suited to one another, and her small deception is never more than a blippet in their journey to happy ever after. Moments that bring earlier couples from the series into the plot, a nice moment to check in with earlier friends. It’s a curious world that Ranney has built here: political opinions and moral judgments on the slavery issue are non-existent and left for the reader to make: a situation in which I am sure those of the time were more concerned with their everyday life and decisions to survive than the larger questions involved in the reasons for war. Smooth writing, polished story and descriptions that bring the worlds alive, this is a series that manages to cross continents and stereotypical gender roles for the time. I received an eArc copy from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
zeeba More than 1 year ago
Karen Ranney is one of my favorite authors. Her books are amazing with the great plots. Her heroines are stubborn and spirited even though they lie or deceive you will love them and her heroes are adorable, strong and gentlemen. An American in Scotland is a wonderful Scottish tale of two stubborn people with pride and love for their family. Rose was one of those heroines who put herself in danger to protect her family and slaves and Duncan put himself in danger because of the beauty, Rose, with the kindest heart. This is a story that keeps you enthralled through the whole book with danger, secret, lie and passion. I highly recommend this Scottish romance. Thank you Karen Ranney
Lost-N-Love-N-Hopeless More than 1 year ago
Scottish hunk hard worker meets family concise American female This romance takes place on more than one continent. The civil unrest in America begins this journey for Rose. She has to under go some minor deceptions to help the one person in the world she loves. She just never imagined that it would lead to her true hearts desire, Duncan MacIain. Duncan was a man that valued family and work. He had a large responsibility to carry with family and his business. He just did not expect for it to encompass the widow of his cousin in just this way. Once he learns of all the issue going on in America, he feels the need to make sure that things do not go wrong. He embarks on a business saving, family saving quest through Scotland and then on to America. Along the way he finds what has been missing from his life but not expected with this woman, Rose. **This ARC was provided via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.** More @ http://mileythebookjunkie.blogspot.com/2016/02/american-in-scotland-by-ranney.html