Angel of the North

Angel of the North

by Annie Wilkinson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Angel of the North by Annie Wilkinson

Who can she turn to when life gets tough?

April 1941, Hull.Nurse Marie Larsen has grown used to the challenges of keeping Hull Royal Infirmary running during the Germans' attacks on her city. Amidst the sudden power cuts, blown out windows and with wounded civilians pouring into the hospital at each new attack, she always thanks her lucky stars that the latest bomb didn't have her name on it.

But when a fresh wave of bombings tears Hull apart, this time tragedy strikes close to home. With her mother now critically ill in hospital, and her father missing, Marie will have some tough decisions to make if she is to keep her younger brother and sister, Alfie and Pam, safe.

Amidst the chaos and uncertainty, it is Marie's beau, Chas Elsworth, who alone is able to keep her spirits up via letters and phonecalls from his post. So when evidence comes to light that Chas might not be the dependable rock that Marie has come to rely upon - where can Marie turn for support?

A gripping tale of ordinary people facing extraordinary challenges, Angel of the North, is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Margaret Dickinson.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781471115387
Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Publication date: 08/29/2013
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 448
File size: 417 KB

About the Author

The daughter of a Durham miner, Annie Wilkinson now lives in Hull where she divides her time between supporting her father and helping with grandchildren.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews