Annie's Holiday by the Sea: A heartwarming laugh out loud romantic comedy

Annie's Holiday by the Sea: A heartwarming laugh out loud romantic comedy

by Liz Eeles

Paperback

$12.59 $13.99 Save 10% Current price is $12.59, Original price is $13.99. You Save 10%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Overview

Annie's Holiday by the Sea: A heartwarming laugh out loud romantic comedy by Liz Eeles

An idyllic, beautifully written, heart-warming story that made my heart swell with joy… Absolutely beautiful; I love everything about this book.The Writing Garnet Blog, 5 stars

When twenty-nine-year-old Annie Trebarwith receives an unexpected letter from a great-aunt she’s never known, she leaves her shoebox-sized flat in London and catches a train to the rugged Cornish coast.

Salt Bay is beautiful and Annie begins to kindle a bond with her great-aunt Alice. Even though there is zero phone signal and the locals – including the gorgeous but brooding Josh Pasco – can be decidedly grumpy at times, Annie starts to feel at home in Salt Bay.

Soon Annie’s love of music leads her to relaunch the Salt Bay Choral Society, and she’s surprised to see how just much the choir means to the community – and she even starts to break through Josh’s surly exterior…

But London is calling Annie back, and she has to make a decision. Give up her old life completely, or leave Salt Bay, her new-found family – and the choir – behind?

Annie’s Holiday by the Sea is a heart-warming story about family, belonging and the healing power of music, perfect for fans of Jo Thomas, Holly Martin and Carole Matthews.

Read what everyone is saying about Annie’s Holiday by the Sea:

Everything about this book was just perfect… I got such a good feeling from this book within the first few chapters and I totally fell in love with Salt Bay and its residents… A simply brilliant read that left me wondering why haven't we heard from this author before… It was more than worth the wait as I loved, loved this book.Shaz’s Book Blog

‘A breath of fresh air… I knew I was going to love this book and I wasn't wrong. This is without a doubt a fabulous read and one that will no doubt get this author a huge following as I for one can not wait to read more by her.’ By The Letter Book Reviews, 5 stars

I absolutely fell in loveA totally outstanding debut that made me giggle and maybe even tear up a few times, I highly recommend this book for anyone looking for a super fun, light read.’ Novel Gossip, 5 stars

Hilarious… A charming, heart-warming and enjoyable read about love, hope, and opening yourself up to happiness. Annie is such a funny and wonderful character… I really couldn't get enough of the Salt Bay communityEverything you want in a contemporary novel, and its sharp wit and excellent narrative makes it truly shine. I can't wait to return to Salt Bay. Go and buy this book!!!!!Books of All Kinds, 5 stars

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786810632
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 05/18/2017
Series: Salt Bay , #1
Pages: 338
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.70(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Annie's Holiday by the Sea: A heartwarming laugh out loud romantic comedy 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Suze-Lavender More than 1 year ago
Annie thinks she's alone in the world. She's twenty-nine years old and before her mother passed away it was just the two of them. When Annie receives a letter from Alice, who's apparently her great-aunt, she's surprised. She didn't know she had any family. Annie is a city girl and Alice lives in Salt Bay, a small Cornish coastal town. Alice asks Annie if she wants to stay for a while. Can Annie adjust to the much slower pace of a small village? Annie doesn't know if she belongs in Salt Bay, but she wants to give it a try. She even has the idea to revive the local choir, which stopped existing after a heartbreaking tragedy. The choir used to mean a lot to the people in Salt Bay and Annie hopes she's the right person to do it justice. It means she has the chance to spend more time with Josh, a handsome, but grumpy man. Is he actually hiding a nice personality underneath the brooding attitude? Will Alice, Josh and the choir be enough to convince Annie to stay in Cornwall or is the appeal of London too great for her to give the hometown of her ancestors a chance? Annie's Holiday by the Sea is a wonderful story. I immediately liked Annie. She's a bit lonely because she doesn't have many loved ones, but she always makes the best of every situation. She's a fighter, even if she'd rather run away or hide. I loved her fierceness and the kindness underneath. Annie gives her great-aunt Alice a chance, even though she doesn't know her, and she also sees through Josh's surly facade. I was curious to find out what would happen when Annie starts getting attached to people. It's an interesting idea for a story and I loved Liz Eeles's execution. She gives the story the exact right amount of depth and Annie's reactions give it a genuine feel. Salt Bay is a lovely little town. It might seem a little boring at first, but a lot is going on, the inhabitants are fascinating and the surroundings are beautiful. I liked the interaction between the people, I enjoyed reading about everyone's adventures and it was fun to see how Annie finds her place in a village where it's hard to keep anything a secret. Annie's Holiday by the Sea is a fun feelgood story filled with charm, beautiful songs and gorgeous main characters.
Liinareads More than 1 year ago
When Annie received an unexpected letter from her great-aunt Alice she didn't even know about, she's a bit hesitant to even open it, but after reading it, she decides to pay a visit to Salt Bay. Annie doesn't have a family in London and she doesn't really like the idea of having a family or long term relations with anyone. She decided to visit Salt Bay for a short period of time, but as the circumstances require, she stays for a bit longer. At first she's a bit taken aback with the place and people, but the more she spends time in Salt Bay, it starts to feel like home. Annie spend a lot of time with Alice and also Kayla, who is a barmaid from Australia. Annie also meets a local man Josh and they both have their own reasons not to get along so well at first, but after getting to know one another more, they start warming up to each other. At first it seems that they come from different worlds, they have more in common that you'd have thought. It was a lovely debut novel. It sucked me in from the beginning and I was engrossed until I turned the last page. What I loved about this book was the small but tight community, well developed characters and the plot never got dull, there was always something going on that sparked your interest even more. As I have already said, I very much enjoyed this book and I can't wait to read the next book that takes place during Christmas.
AliTheDragonSlayer More than 1 year ago
The title has such a lovely ring to it, the cover is glorious and once again I’m reading a book set in Cornwall so I have obviously made the right choice to move there! As I have said previously there seems to be a plethora of Cornwall books out at the moment and this isn’t the first one where the long lost family come to light so I was a little blase when I began. However, before the first few pages were read I was giggling and knew I was in for a treat. This is the first book by Liz Eeles that I have read and I believe it could actually be her debut in which case it is a beauty. Annie leaves London and heads to meet a Great Aunt that she had no idea existed until a solicitor contacted her. Arriving in Salt Bay is less than perfect, the weather is dank the locals not overly friendly if being virtually knocked for six on the roadside is anything to go by! However this maniac driver does materialise into a brooding, sultry hunk. Annie is used to the hustle of city life so being stuck in a remote area with no wifi or phone signal is not appealing but as time goes on and she becomes fond of Aunt Alice who is frail needing care, Annie loosens up and as secrets are revealed the story takes on some twists and tuns. As she begins to settle and make friends she finds out about the village tragedy and this is where the resurrection of the choir comes into play. Her and Kayla form a a great bond and the healing powers of music aids the community. There are lots of great characters, some more pleasant than others and I enjoyed watching Annie blossom from city to county girl. This is a thoroughly entertaining book filled with a warm welcome, it invites you in and wraps you in it’s charm. Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea is a gem that will leave you feeling satisfied. My thanks to Bookouture, Netgalley and the author for my copy which I reviewed voluntarily.