by Katie Piper


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A harrowing but ultimately inspiring memoir of how one girl's beautiful face and spirit was destroyed after a vicious acid attack


I heard a horrible screaming sound, like an animal being slaughtered . . . then I realised it was me.


When Katie Piper was 24, her life was near perfect. Young and beautiful, she was well on her way to fulfilling her dream of becoming a model. But then she met Daniel Lynch on Facebook and her world quickly turned into a nightmare. After being held captive and brutally raped by her new boyfriend, Katie was subjected to a vicious acid attack. Within seconds, this bright and bubbly girl could feel her looks and the life she loved melting away. This is the moving true story of how one young woman had her mind, body, and spirit cruelly snatched from her and how she inspired millions with her fight to get them back.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780091940768
Publisher: Crown Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/27/2011
Pages: 320
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Katie Piper's documentary Katie: My Beautiful Face won her a BAFTA nomination, and was shown in 15 different countries around the world. She was the subject of an episode of 20/20 and has appeared on CNN. The documentary and the 20/20 episode both can be seen on the Oprah Winfrey Network. Katie now runs her own charity, The Katie Piper Foundation, which is dedicated to raising awareness of the plight of burns victims and other disfigurement injuries.

Table of Contents

Prologue 1

Chapter 1 Head Full of Dreams 3

Chapter 2 Fame 17

Chapter 3 Boyfriend 29

Chapter 4 The Nightmare Begins 43

Chapter 5 Living in Fear 53

Chapter 6 Goodbye Katie 63

Chapter 7 Destroyed 73

Chapter 8 Hope 89

Chapter 9 Facing the World 101

Chapter 10 Home Safe and Sound 115

Chapter 11 Healing 127

Chapter 12 One Step at a Time 141

Chapter 13 Preparing for Battle 153

Chapter 14 Standing Alone 167

Chapter 15 Survivor 179

Chapter 16 Independence 191

Chapter 17 Round Two 205

Chapter 18 Celebrations 217

Chapter 19 First Date 229

Chapter 20 Feeling Loved 241

Chapter 21 No More Hiding 255

Chapter 22 Funny Old World 269

Chapter 23 New Beginnings 281

Chapter 24 A Beautiful Life 295

Acknowledgements 309

About the Author 313

Customer Reviews