ISBN-10:
1950539326
ISBN-13:
9781950539321
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
Between Tides

Between Tides

by Angel Khoury

Hardcover

$24.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23

Overview

A captivating historical novel set on Cape Cod and North Carolina's Outer Banks, perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping


1890s, Cape Cod: Between tides, a man deserts his wife and his post as keeper of the Chatham Beach Lifesaving Station to start a new family far to the south, at Cape Hatteras.

 
1940s: His daughter, en route to serve in World War II with the Red Cross, travels to Cape Cod where she meets his first wife, Blythe, reanimating a life she had long buried: memories of her courtship, her bitter losses, and her husband’s slow-motion vanishing.

Set on two wild seascapes, Cape Cod and North Carolina’s Outer Banks, Between Tides is a lyrical novel for readers of Virginia Woolf, Djuna Barnes, and Marilynne Robinson—a story of two women stitching together a family ripped at the seams and discovering that even through absence, love’s presence is everlasting.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781950539321
Publisher: Dzanc Books
Publication date: 08/09/2021
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 237,175
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.60(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Angel Khoury has lived on the North Carolina’s Outer Banks for more than forty years. A summer as dishwasher at the Avalon Fishing Pier, waves washing below her feet while reading MacNeill’s The Hatterasman propped above the sink, convinced her to stay. She became associate editor of The Coastland Times, editor and publisher of Outer Banks Magazine, author of Manteo: A Roanoke Island Town, and a board member of the non-profit Outer Banks Conservationists, owners of the Currituck Beach Lighthouse and Island Farm. A native of Suffolk, Virginia, she graduated from The University of Virginia, and also attended Randolph-Macon Woman’s College. These experiences all led, inevitably, to her first novel, Between Tides. She lives on Roanoke Island, surrounded by history, among friends both living and dead.

Customer Reviews