Brood

Brood

by Jackie Polzin

Hardcover

$19.99 $24.00 Save 17% Current price is $19.99, Original price is $24. You Save 17%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 27

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Jackie Polzin’s Brood is a powerful debut novel that sets Polzin up as a strong new literary voice and one to watch. The unnamed narrator has thrown herself into taking care of chickens in the wake of an unimaginable tragedy, and while the entire novel is framed around the chickens’ well-being, it is the heartbreaking, small snippets around her miscarriage and its aftermath that are brutally poignant. An honest take on internalized versus externalized pain, Brood is a beautiful novel with real staying power.

“A wonderfully written first novel, full of nuance and humor and strangeness…[Polzin] writes beautifully about everything.”
—Elizabeth McCracken, The New York Times

An exquisite new literary voice—wryly funny, nakedly honest, beautifully observational, in the vein of Jenny Offill and Elizabeth Strout—depicts one woman's attempt to keep her four chickens alive while reflecting on a recent loss


Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails. From the forty-below nights of a brutal Minnesota winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined.

Intimate and startlingly original, this slender novel is filled with wisdom, sorrow and joy. As the year unfolds, we come to know the small band of loved ones who comprise the narrator's circumscribed life at this moment. Her mother, a flinty former home-ec teacher who may have to take over the chickens; her best friend, a real estate agent with a burgeoning family of her own; and her husband whose own coping mechanisms for dealing with the miscarriage that haunts his wife are more than a little unfathomable to her.

A stunning and brilliantly insightful meditation on life and longing that will stand beside such modern classics as H is for Hawk and Gilead, Brood rewards its readers with the richness of reflection and unrelenting hope.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385546751
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/09/2021
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 14,558
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.40(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

JACKIE POLZIN lives in St. Paul, Minnesota with her husband and children. Brood is her first novel.

Customer Reviews