Caprica [Original Soundtrack]

Caprica [Original Soundtrack]

by Bear McCreary


$15.78 $16.99 Save 7% Current price is $15.78, Original price is $16.99. You Save 7%.

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Caprica [Original Soundtrack]

When director Jeffrey Reiner read the script for Caprica, the straight-to-video feature that also serves as the pilot episode for the 2010 Sci Fi Channel series and is a prequel to the channel's 2004-2009 remake of the Battlestar Galactica series, he thought of minimalist composer Philip Glass' score for Koyaanisqatsi and also felt that the ethnic family saga needed a melody in the mode of Nino Rota's love theme for The Godfather. These notions, which he mentions in his liner notes to the soundtrack album, obviously also were conveyed to composer Bear McCreary, who had scored Battlestar Galactica, and he has tried to honor them with the music heard here. McCreary indulged his taste for big percussion and employed a variety of ethnic instruments from around the world for Battlestar Galactica, but he has taken a "polar opposite" approach for the city-bound Caprica, employing what is referred to as the Hollywood Symphony Orchestra, which is to say, a batch of Hollywood-based session musicians, in this case a subset of the sometimes giant ensembles put together for film scores, consisting of only 16 violins, three violas, five cellos, and a bass. Here and there, he has brought in his ethnic favorites, including a dudek and a Chinese membrane flute, and the cue "Cybernetic Life Form Node" employs the taiko drum sound so familiar from Battlestar Galactica. But Glass-like short, repetitive string patterns do turn up frequently (without the relentlessness that Glass gives them, however), and McCreary does write plenty of wistful minor-key melodies for the violins in a score that has a distinctively melancholy feel. After all, as Battlestar Galactica fans know, the city of Caprica is as doomed as Sodom and Gomorrah, and for many of the same reasons.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/16/2009
Label: La-La Land Records
UPC: 0826924109823
catalogNumber: 1098

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bear McCreary   Primary Artist,Piano,Soloist
Darius Campo   Violin
Paul Cartwright   Violin,Electric Violin,Soloist
Brian Dembow   Viola
Stephen Erdody   Violin,Cello
Julie Gigante   Violin,Concert Master
Paula Hochhalter   Violin,Cello
Dennis Karmazyn   Violin,Cello
Roland Kato   Viola
Helen Nightengale   Violin
Katia Popov   Violin
Lisa Sutton   Violin
Natalie Leggett   Violin
Chris Bleth   English Horn,Oboe,Woodwind,Wind Instruments,Soloist
Hollywood Symphony Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Eun Mee Ahn   Violin
Rose Corrigan   Bassoon
Sarah Thornblade   Violin
Benedikt Brydern   Violin
Lorenz Gamma   Violin
Andrew Duckles   Viola
Robert Anderson   Violin
Jen Kuhn   Violin,Cello
Serena McKinney   Violin
Searmi Park   Violin
Jacob Szekely   Violin,Cello
Phillip Levy   Violin
Tamara Hatwan   Violin
Jo Ann Turovsky   Harp,Soloist
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Jenni Olson   Flute
Charles Boito   Clarinet
M.B. Gordy   Percussion,Harp,Soloist

Technical Credits

Mark Banning   Art Direction
Greg Dennon   Engineer,Engineering
John Snyder   Scoring Assistant
Michael Beach   Scoring Assistant
Steve Kaplan   Producer,Engineer,Score Producer,Audio Production,Engineering
Ford A. Thaxton   Producer,Audio Production
Michael V. Gerhard   Executive Producer
Matt Verboys   Executive Producer
Jeremy Levy   Orchestration
Bear McCreary   Composer,Programming,Producer,Liner Notes,Score Producer,Audio Production,MIDI,MIDI Programming
Jamie Olvera   Stage Coordinator
Brendan McCreary   Scoring Assistant
Brandon Roberts   Orchestration
Jonathan Ortega   Scoring Assistant
Aaron A. Roethe   Scoring Coordinator
Richard Wheeler   Stage Crew
Jeffrey Reiner   Liner Notes
Greg Dennen   Engineering
Andrew Craig   Session Photographer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews