Chemistry

Chemistry

by Weike Wang

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.40 $16.00 Save 10% Current price is $14.4, Original price is $16. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 27

Overview

Named by The Washington Post as a Notable Work of Fiction in 2017 and by Entertainment Weekly as a Best Debut Novel of 2017
Named a Best Book of 2017 by NPR, Ann Patchett on PBS NewsHour, Minnesota Public Radio, Maris Kreizman, and The Morning News

National Book Foundation “5 Under 35” Honoree

Longlisted for the Aspen Words Literary Prize

A luminous coming-of-age novel about a young female scientist who must recalibrate her life when her academic career goes off track; perfect for readers of Lab Girl and Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You.
 

Three years into her graduate studies at a demanding Boston university, the unnamed narrator of this nimbly wry, concise debut finds her one-time love for chemistry is more hypothesis than reality. She's tormented by her failed research--and reminded of her delays by her peers, her advisor, and most of all by her Chinese parents, who have always expected nothing short of excellence from her throughout her life. But there's another, nonscientific question looming: the marriage proposal from her devoted boyfriend, a fellow scientist, whose path through academia has been relatively free of obstacles, and with whom she can't make a life before finding success on her own. Eventually, the pressure mounts so high that she must leave everything she thought she knew about her future, and herself, behind. And for the first time, she's confronted with a question she won't find the answer to in a textbook: What do I really want? Over the next two years, this winningly flawed, disarmingly insightful heroine learns the formulas and equations for a different kind of chemistry--one in which the reactions can't be quantified, measured, and analyzed; one that can be studied only in the mysterious language of the heart. Taking us deep inside her scattered, searching mind, here is a brilliant new literary voice that astutely juxtaposes the elegance of science, the anxieties of finding a place in the world, and the sacrifices made for love and family.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780525432227
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 04/03/2018
Series: Vintage Contemporaries Series
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 119,804
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

WEIKE WANG is a graduate of Harvard University, where she earned her undergraduate degree in chemistry and her doctorate in public health. She received her MFA from Boston University. Her fiction has been published in or is forthcoming from Alaska Quarterly Review, Glimmer Train, The Journal, Ploughshares, Redivider, and SmokeLong Quarterly. She is a 2017 “5 Under 35” honoree of the National Book Foundation.

Read an Excerpt

Part I
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Chemistry"
by .
Copyright © 2018 Weike Wang.
Excerpted by permission of Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Reading Group Guide

The questions, discussion topics, and reading list that follow are intended to enhance your reading group’s conversation about Chemistry, the stunning debut novel from Weike Wang.

1. Eric is the only character in Chemistry who has a name; the other characters are referred to simply as “the best friend,” “the lab mate,” “the math student,” and “the shrink.” Even the narrator herself is never named. Why do you think Wang made this choice?

2. Compare and contrast the narrator’s upbringing with Eric’s upbringing. How do the similarities and differences between their childhoods affect their relationship?

3. Explore the narrator’s aversion to commitment. To whom and what is she reluctant to commit? Why? How is this fear of commitment connected to her feelings about love?

4. Examine the relationship between the narrator’s parents. What is the source of their unhappiness? How does this unhappiness manifest itself? In what ways do the narrator’s memories of her parents’ marital discord continue to impact her life as an adult?

5. Consider the narrator’s understanding of her Chinese heritage. Does she feel more Chinese or more American? How does she express—­or struggle to express—­these different aspects of her identity?

6. Discuss the narrator’s perception of gender roles. What does she expect from herself as a woman? What do others expect from her? To what extent are these expectations at odds with each other?

7. After the narrator and Eric separate, the narrator asks the shrink if being fearless is “to be without fear or to have courage that is equal to or greater than fear” (112). Explore the theme of fear in the novel. What is the narrator afraid of? How does she try to conquer these fears? Is she successful? Why or why not?

8. Discuss the weather motif in Chemistry. In what ways is weather connected to the passage of time? To the narrator’s sense of control?

9. Consider the narrator’s relationship with her father. How would you describe his parenting style? In what ways is his parenting style different from the narrator’s mother’s parenting style? How has the narrator’s understanding of her father changed as she has grown older?

10. Throughout the novel, the narrator expresses empathy for and loyalty to her mother, despite her mother’s misdeeds. Why do you think the narrator is so forgiving of her mother? What do you think this suggests about their bond—­and about the narrator’s awareness of the demands of motherhood?

11. Examine the narrator’s friendship with the best friend. What is the foundation of their friendship? How have their lives diverged? What continues to hold them together?

12. On page 177, the narrator recalls how one of her college professors once told her, “Science is not a panacea; activities such as human interactions are difficult to answer with this method.” How does the narrator use her scientific knowledge to make sense of her personal life? What are the limitations of this mode of understanding?

13. The novel concludes with a letter the narrator has written to Eric in which she asks him to come back to visit, but “just as a friend” (211). Is this the ending you expected? Why or why not? What do you think will happen between the narrator and Eric? What other conflicts are left unresolved at the conclusion of the novel? Why do you think Wang chose to end Chemistry on this note of uncertainty?

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Chemistry 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe i just dont get it.