Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha Series #1)

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha Series #1)

by Tomi Adeyemi
Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha Series #1)

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha Series #1)

by Tomi Adeyemi

Hardcover

(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
$17.99  $21.99 Save 18% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $21.99. You Save 18%.
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 29
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Steeped in West African mythology, Children of Blood and Bone is riddled with the kind of tangible stakes you can't look away from. Populated by dynamic characters, propulsive in plot and inventive in magic, this is the kind of book that asks a lot of important questions alongside a breakneck narrative.

Please check your local store for the Barnes & Noble Exclusive Edition of Children of Blood and Bone – while supplies last.

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.

They took our magic.

They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for an enemy.

“The next big thing in literature and film.”Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of the year. Aside from a compelling plot and a strong-willed heroine as the protagonist, the book deals with larger themes, like race and power, that are being discussed in real time.”Teen Vogue

“A remarkable achievement.”Campus Lately

“Tomi Adeyemi is about to take both the literature and film world by storm.”Jet


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250170972
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication date: 03/06/2018
Series: Legacy of Orïsha Series , #1
Pages: 544
Sales rank: 8,952
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.80(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Named one of TIME magazine's 100 most influential people, Tomi Adeyemi is a Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Nigerian-American writer and storyteller based in Los Angeles, CA. After graduating from Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology, religion, and culture in Salvador, Brazil. Her first novel, Children of Blood and Bone, debuted at #1 on The New York Times Bestseller list and is being developed into a movie by Disney's Fox & Lucasfilm. Its highly anticipated sequel, Children of Virtue and Vengeance, also debuted at #1 on the New York Times Bestseller list. When she’s not working or playing with puppies, Tomi can be found teaching creative writing at thewritersroadmap.net. In 2020, she was named one of Forbes 30 Under 30 in Media, and her website has been named one of the 101 best websites for writers by Writer’s Digest.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews