Country Hardball

Country Hardball

by Steve Weddle

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Country Hardball by Steve Weddle

After more than a decade spent in and out of juvenile detention, halfway houses, and jail, Roy Alison returns to his rural hometown determined to do better, to be better. But what he finds is a working-class community devastated by the economic downturn--a town without anything to hold onto but the past.

Staying with his grandmother, Roy discovers a family history of good intentions and bad choices, of making do without much chance of doing better. Around him, families lose their sons to war, hunting accidents, drugs. And Roy, along with the town, falls into old patterns established generations ago.

A novel-in-stories in the tradition of Bonnie Jo Campbell, Donald Ray Pollock, Denis Johnson, and Alan Heathcock, Country Hardball is a powerfully observed and devastatingly understated portrait of the American working class.

"Steve Weddle's Country Hardball is a perfect combination of the brokenhearted and the just flat broke... Here's hoping Weddle never stops writing..." --Benjamin Whitmer, author of Pike

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781440571091
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication date: 10/04/2013
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 309,712
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Steve Weddle grew up on the Louisiana/Arkansas line, holds an MFA in creative writing from Louisiana State University, and currently works for a newspaper group. He lives with his family in Virginia.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Country Hardball 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
TheContinentalOp More than 1 year ago
A Spectacular Debut COUNTRY HARDBALL is so rich, textured, and assured a piece of writing, it’s hard to believe it’s a debut. Weddle’s novel-in-stories captures the quiet desperation of the American working class, and its even quieter sense of hope in the face of impossible odds. The characters and their many misdeeds are rendered unflinchingly but not without sympathy. Their stories, to a one, stand on their own – but their whole is truly greater than their sum.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Country Hardball is a perfect mix of Southern fiction with a dash of noir, combining lean, mean writing style with a cast of characters who all seem to be hiding something. They're all caught between circumstances and family and local history. Yet you can't help but falling into their stories and, in a way, pulling for them, even if you're not sure it's going to turn out to be the right thing. And yes, it is a novel of stories. If you're used to linear plots with one or two characters, it might take some getting used to. But give it a shot and you'll be rewarded.