Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood

Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood

by Leah Vincent
4.5 10

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.44 $16.00 Save 35% Current price is $10.44, Original price is $16. You Save 35%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, September 27 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Overview

Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood by Leah Vincent

An electrifying memoir about a young woman’s self-destructive spiral after being cast out by her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, this brutally honest memoir tells the story of one woman’s struggle to define herself as an individual. Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, an ultra-Orthodox Jewish sect that shuns the modern world. When, at sixteen, Leah was caught exchanging letters with a boy—breaking a religious ban on contact between the sexes—her family cut all ties. Sent to live on her own in New York City, adrift and unprepared for the freedoms of secular life, Leah’s desperate loneliness coupled with her stubborn loyalty to the dogma of her past pulled her into a vicious cycle of promiscuity and self-harm. It took a shocking state of despair to empower her to transform a life of tragedy into a tale of unexpected triumph, one that illuminates both the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism and the broader issues facing young women from all backgrounds as they grapple with sexuality and identity.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780143127413
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 05/12/2015
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 311,362
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Leah Vincent is a writer and an activist. A first-generation college student, Leah went on to earn a Master’s in Public Policy at the Harvard Kennedy School as a Pforzheimer Fellow. Leah now works on projects that address social justice within ultra-Orthodoxy, the rise of Jewish fundamentalism, and the female experience of shame. Her essays have appeared in The New York Times, Salon, Unpious, ZEEK, The Daily Beast and The Jewish Daily Forward.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very interesting story that provides a glimps into a world very few know. It is a great depiction of how family, religion, love and self esteem all play a part in the development of a child into adulthood. It is not a very heartwarming story, and I felt it was wrapped up rather easily and quickly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was rich in detail, the protagonist vivid and likeable. A look into a world we may not know much about. Fascinating read.
Anonymous 7 months ago
I loved this book! I come from a very different world and this was a good insight to an "extreme" family of any type. Its very motivational to be the best person you can no matter where your family ties or roots may be. Thiis woman is amazing!!
PVF More than 1 year ago
Just a fabulous book. Amazing what she overcame.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Leah Vincent takes you on her intense life journey with grace and a little humor. I couldn't put the book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rforte0531 More than 1 year ago
I love memoirs and this was a wonderful book. Definitely recommend it. Read it in only a few days.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gots no clue