Daniel Scratch: A Story of Witchkind

Daniel Scratch: A Story of Witchkind

by Don Jones
Daniel Scratch: A Story of Witchkind

Daniel Scratch: A Story of Witchkind

by Don Jones

Paperback

$14.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 29
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Thirteen year-old Daniel Scratch has been living alone for years since his parents passed, cared for by his home's tiny, elf-like brownies and his somehow-still-living great-great grandmother. But when Grandmother sends him to the village to be Tested, his life turns upside down. He's abandoned on a craggy isle, home to the Tower of Endings, and discovers he's to be the next adherent to the Sixth Axis, one of the most powerful magical forces in the world. He lives in the Tower for years, learning all the basic magics of witchkind along with the great Seven Forms of his Axis. Along the way, learns more than he ever thought possible about his people and their society, and their relationships with the far more-numerous humans of the world. His education culminates with an irreversible Choice, thrusting him into a mystery whose resolution will save all of humanity and witchkind - or doom them all to chaos and oblivion.

"Adult and teenage fans of thoughtful fantasy will love exploring this beautifully described world of arcane powers. This meditative look at power will engage readers who like their fantasy with a side of philosophy. Great for fans of Ursula K. Le Guin's A Wizard of Earthsea, Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book." - BookLife Review

"This book is delightful! It's tickling my inner nerd somewhere at the intersection of 'Harry Potter,' 'Avatar: The Last Airbender,' and 'Skyrim,' all while being its own unique story and world."

"This is a delightful story - I can't wait to dive back into this world."


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781953645005
Publisher: Don Gannon-Jones
Publication date: 08/01/2020
Series: Witchkind , #1
Pages: 334
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Don Jones has been a technology author and presenter since the late 1990s, and finally decided to sit down and write that novel that had been floating around in his head for two decades. Don alternates between living in Las Vegas and Southern Utah, depending on the temperature. Learn more and connect at DonJones.com.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews