This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Dear Edward: A Novel

Dear Edward: A Novel

by Ann Napolitano

Hardcover

$18.90 $27.00 Save 30% Current price is $18.9, Original price is $27. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on January 14, 2020

Overview

After losing everything, a young boy discovers there are still reasons for hope in this luminous, life-affirming novel, perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Ann Patchett.

In the face of tragedy, what does it take to find joy?

One summer morning, twelve-year-old Edward Adler, his beloved older brother, his parents, and 183 other passengers board a flight in Newark headed for Los Angeles. Among them is a Wall Street wunderkind, a young woman coming to terms with an unexpected pregnancy, an injured vet returning from Afghanistan, a septuagenarian business tycoon, and a free-spirited woman running away from her controlling husband. And then, tragically, the plane crashes. Edward is the sole survivor.

Edward's story captures the attention of the nation, but he struggles to find a place for himself in a world without his family. He continues to feel that a piece of him has been left in the sky, forever tied to the plane and all of his fellow passengers. But then he makes an unexpected discovery—one that will lead him to the answers of some of life's most profound questions: When you've lost everything, how do find yourself? How do you discover your purpose? What does it mean not just to survive, but to truly live?

Dear Edward is at once a transcendent coming-of-age story, a multidimensional portrait of an unforgettable cast of characters, and a breathtaking illustration of all the ways a broken heart learns to love again.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781984854780
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 01/14/2020
Pages: 352
Product dimensions: 6.12(w) x 9.25(h) x (d)

About the Author

Ann Napolitano is the author of the novels A Good Hard Look and Within Arm's Reach. She is also the Associate Editor of One Story literary magazine. She received an MFA from New York University; she has taught fiction writing for Brooklyn College's MFA program, New York University's School of Continuing and Professional Studies, and for Gotham Writers' Workshop. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two children.