Death and the Butterfly

Death and the Butterfly

by Colin Hester

Hardcover

$26.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, December 8

Overview

For readers of Michael Ondaatje and Chris Cleave, this sweeping multigenerational novel centered around endless heartbreak and enduring love features the intertwined stories of three women who transcend three tragedies of the twentieth century with the aid of the greatest love poet of all time: Pablo Neruda.

London, England, September 1940. Thirteen–year–old Susan McEwan and her older brother, Phillip, a pilot, witness firsthand the initial Nazi bombing of civilian London. Weeks later, Phillip’s Sunderland bomber is shot down, and his family is wordlessly devastated.

Toronto, Canada, the early 1980s. As a young couple struggles to survive the Reagan recession, the husband, Alexander Polo, is forced to take a job as a paperboy. When the wife, Julie, discovers she is pregnant, Polo must now confront his future head–on with his heart open.

Montana, the first days of September 2001. His wedding day overshadowed by the tragedy of 9/11, Jack Riordan discovers a magazine story written by Polo about Susan and airplanes and her love of the poems of Pablo Neruda.

With humor and insight, Colin Hester explores how Susan, Polo, and Jack carry on—grieving the death of a child or the end of a marriage—in deeply felt and beautifully imagined prose.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781640093256
Publisher: Catapult
Publication date: 07/14/2020
Pages: 272
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.94(d)

About the Author

COLIN HESTER is a British-born former student of Zen and former thirty-year-old paperboy. The author of Diamond Sutra, Hester has taught writing at Central Washington University, the University of Montana, and the University of Colorado. He lives just north of Seattle with his British-born wife and his U.S.-born cat.

Customer Reviews