Eagle River's written history begins in 1898, when the valley was explored by W.C. Mendenhall of the US Geological Survey. Since that first journey, a vibrant community has grown just 10 miles from Anchorage, still retaining its small town characteristics. The early years include the Iditarod Trail, the building of the Alaska Railroad, and a fox farm around Fire Lake. World War II brought many families to the area, and some of these families started homesteads in Eagle River. By the 1960s, Eagle River had a shopping center, post office, and schools--earning it a place on the map. The 1970s and 1980s saw an explosion in growth as Pippel's Field was built up with businesses and housing, the Chugiak-Eagle River Chamber of Commerce was organized, and the Bear Paw Festival was started.
|Publisher:||Arcadia Publishing SC|
|Product dimensions:||6.69(w) x 9.61(h) x 0.38(d)|
About the Author
Photographs in this book are from the Chugiak-Eagle River Historical Society, Anchorage Museum, Chugiak-Eagle River Chamber of Commerce, Archie Boyles's collection, the Helen Phillips family collection, and other individuals who donated to this endeavor. Zane Treesh has lived in Eagle River since 1971. In 1994, he received a bachelor of arts in history from the University of Alaska-Anchorage.