Fireborn (Souls of Fire Series #1)

Fireborn (Souls of Fire Series #1)

by Keri Arthur

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101621875
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 07/01/2014
Series: Souls of Fire Series , #1
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 23,549
File size: 1 MB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Keri Arthur, New York Times bestselling author of the Dark Angels and Riley Jenson Guardian series, has written more than thirty books. She’s been nominated in the Best Contemporary Paranormal category of the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Awards and has won a Romantic Times Career Achievement Award for urban fantasy. She lives with her daughter in Melbourne, Australia. 

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for Keri Arthur
Winner of the Romantic Times 2008 Reviewers’ Choice Awards for Career Achievement in Urban Fantasy

"Keri Arthur has again blown me away. Her worlds are so complex and 'real'....I highly recommend Arthur's books."—USA Today

“Keri Arthur’s imagination and energy infuse everything she writes with zest.”—Charlaine Harris

"Smart, sexy, and well-conceived."—Kim Harrison

"Risa Jones is a one of a kind; she is the next generation's paranormal superheroine."—Joyfully Reviewed on the Dark Angels novels

"Fans of Anita Blake and Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse vampire series will be rewarded."—Publishers Weekly
"Arthur is positively one of the best urban fantasy authors in print today."—Darque Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fireborn (Souls of Fire Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
BooksnKisses More than 1 year ago
NUMBER OF HEARTS: 3 1/2 REVIEW:  This was a good first book in Keri’s new Souls of Fire series. I really liked Emberly. Who could not like a Phoenix? But Emberly has a very complicated life that just keeps getting more and more complicated by the page. I won’t tell you a lot because you need to read for yourself but let’s say Emberly has a soul mate that she is not in love with. And like any good Keri Arthur book Emberly has a very interesting sex life.  There is a lot going on in this first book. I am not totally wild about the Urban Fantasy genre mostly because I really like my HEA at the end of each book. But Fireborn was still a good read and I am looking forward to where Keri is going to take this cast of characters.  Disclaimer:  I received a complimentary copy of the book from NetGalley & PENGUIN GROUP Berkley, NAL / Signet Romance, DAW in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Keri Arthur. I was reluctant to start a different series because well you can't really top Riley or Risa, or Nikki and Michael. But this was dead on! We read about weres, vamps shifters and the like but no one has ever ventured into this! Totally worth it and can't wait for the next one. However I will say I think her ex is a total douchebag!
LITERALADDICTION_MLO More than 1 year ago
Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Chelle: --Actual rating 4.5 Skulls Fireborn kicks off a new UF series for the wonderful Keri Arthur, and it was so very Keri. :) What do I mean by that?  If you're a diehard fan of Keri's series like I am, you'll find another strong, independent heroine that needs sex to survive, romance partners that aren't quite fated to be but work so very well, action aplenty, plot twists that surprise, world building that shows incredible promise to grow, and a character cast that you can't help but love.  But while Fireborn had all of the things that I adore in a Keri Arthur book, it also had a new and interesting mythos - the Phoenix - which are cursed, an apocalyptic-type conflict in the form of a immortality virus gone horribly wrong, numerous 'big bads' that are exciting in their own right, and some surprises that are right there for the taking but never quite revealed. Yet. ;-) I am really excited to see where Keri takes this series, and I am anxiously awaiting the next installment.   I would definitely recommend this book for ALL Keri Arthur fans and urban fantasy fans that like their story arcs broad and building, their heroines feisty and strong, a bit of conflict in the love department, and plenty of action and intrigue. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the frist book in this new series and looking forward to the next book. Keir Aurther has away with words. I've read all her books and loved every one of them. This book is a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It was a little slow at the beginning but it picked up. I am really looking forward to the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Just wish it was a little longer and not so rushed at the end.
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
My first by Keri Arthur, it won't be my last. Excellent fantasy, very fast and exciting plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've always loved Keri Arthur, this new series I've begun to read just reinforced that feeling. Can't wait to read the rest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jcsbookhaven More than 1 year ago
The Good You know what I haven't read about yet, but is a creature I absolutely adore?? Phoenixes! And Arthur has provided me with an investigative type series with a phoenix as the main character. I really enjoyed the Riley Jenson series when I read it a while ago, so all signs point to 'Go' with this series. Learning the ins and outs of phoenix life was quite fun. Emberly has quite a few neat tricks up her sleeve. I'm not going to go into detail with her power or the mythology around the phoenixes too much, but it was incredibly interesting to dive into. There is also a good element of needing recharged and power draining which I liked or she would never be in any real danger and it helps to make her much more relatable. This one also has the mystery element. Emberly finds herself in the midst of an investigation which provides the majority of the plot. There was a great mixture of phoenix, red cloaks, fae, vampires, werewolves, and I'm sure there will be more to come in the future. I'm not quite sure what's going on with the 'darkness' mentioned numerous times that resides in Sam. However, it's great to follow the investigation filled with some inventive bad guys and good guys. I enjoyed the characters. Some we only had brief glimpses of like Rory, but since he's Emberly's partner through life then I'm sure I'll learn all about him in more detail. Jackson was a fun one and HOT. He's a fire fae that Emberly finds herself working with since he's a private investigator. The Bad The overused mention of Sam's 'darkness' and how bad Emberly wanted him every time he came on scene was a little annoying. There was also no resolution to the mystery in this one which means it must continue on. There was a clear ending to the book, just no solving of what they were investigating. The Romance I actually really like the curse element on Emberly and all the phoenixes. Apparently, they have to mate with a phoenix forever and that person is with them through all their rebirths, but they will never emotionally be in love with them. It also means they can't really find love elsewhere either since they will always be cheating on them with their mate. It's very saddening to imagine multiple lives without true love, but I'm hoping Arthur has something good in store for us in the future. Also, it's amazing that Emberly hasn't given up hope about finding her love. There was a lot of lust to go around though, and this is very adult. Conclusion A good start to the series with a new-for-me creature that's very interesting to learn about. The pace was full of action, never boring, and the characters were entertaining. While there were a few blips that I could have done without, I really enjoyed it and will continue with the series. There are some similarities here with the Riley Jenson series (detective work, lots of hooking up, and the supernatural creatures), but it kept everything I loved and was enough different to not be a replica. Recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Always nice to read the start of a new paranormal series from Kerri Arthur. Looks like this will be a fast paced thriller
LilyElementBookReviews More than 1 year ago
Fireborn is book one in the Souls of Fire series. The story revolves around Emberly Pearson, a phoenix. Emberly works as an assistant to a scientist/researcher, but things take a dangerous turn when her boss's place gets ransacked and he winds up murdered. Emberly is forced to work with her ex-boyfriend, Sam Turner, to help solve who is behind the murder. Sam's part of the Paranormal Investigations Team (PIT) and from what I gleaned from the past he's changed a lot from when him and Emberly dated. I was so excited to read this book because I don't think I've read any that had a phoenix as the main character. I loved the aspects the author included about phoenixes, they have multiple forms and are able to be born again as long as their mate is there and alive. One aspect I didn't enjoy was the curse that their mate could never be the one they love. It pretty much makes it where the phoenix in question will always cheat since they need their mate to survive. I've been in a reading slump lately and sadly I think it affected me while reading this book. I had a bit of a hard time keeping my interest while reading Fireborn. I've loved Keri Arthur's previous books in the past, so it isn't going to stop me from reading book two. The paranormal aspects were quite nice and were probably my favorite part of the book. I loved learning about phoenixes, and the fire fae. Keri Arthur manages to weave a new world for us and makes me want to know what happens next. If you're a fan of Urban Fantasy and want a phoenix book, I suggest this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story, amazing characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool concept . Looking forward to the next !
FantasyCrayon More than 1 year ago
this book drawls you in like all her books do you fall in love with Emberly. the book starts off with a run and you never get tired, you get pulled into this world and you don't want to let go. I will miss Riley and Risa but these new charactors are amazingly easy to fall in love with . I cannot wait for the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, it seems like its going to be a new kick ass seires..... Cj Thorsos.....
stuck_in_blue More than 1 year ago
I go through quite a few books, and I'm one for grabbing things at random, so I do my fair share of fantasy romance novels. While this book is more about men than magic, it does so in a surprising and novel way. The action is not half bad either and it has been a long time since I read about a phoenix. I thoroughly enjoyed myself, and it was good enough that I would have bought the next one! (It's not out yet) Instead, I settled for buying another one of Arthur's books, and it was not quite as good. Clearly she was inspired for this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
clermont-farm More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, can not wait for the next one.