For Her Consideration

For Her Consideration

by Amy Spalding

Narrated by Sophie Amoss

Amy Spalding

Unabridged — 11 hours, 18 minutes

For Her Consideration

For Her Consideration

by Amy Spalding

Narrated by Sophie Amoss

Amy Spalding

Unabridged — 11 hours, 18 minutes

Audiobook (Digital)

$24.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


Related collections and offers

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $24.99

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Non-Famous meets Famous in this celebrity trope story. It covers family dynamics, platonic relationships, and MORE than platonic relationships in a sweet and fast read. In other words, thoughtful AND swoony for a solid addition to your Rom Com library.

“Pure romance magic.”-Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author of Love Other Words
“I loved how joyful, how thoughtful, and how real For Her Consideration was.”-New York Times bestselling author Jasmine Guillory
Perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Meryl Wilsner, a funny, heartwarming, and moving novel about bad breakups, found families, and embracing life.
A Buzzfeed LGBTQ Romance You've Got to Read
Since a crushing breakup three years ago, Nina Rice has written romance, friends, her dreams of scriptwriting for TV, and even LA proper out of her life. Instead, she's safely out in the suburbs in her aunt's condo working her talent agency job from home, managing celebrity email accounts, and certain that's plenty of writing-and plot-for her life. But a surprise meeting called by Ari Fox, a young actress on everyone's radar, stirs up all kinds of feelings Nina thought she'd deleted for good . . .
Ari is sexy, out and proud, and a serious control freak, according to Nina's boss. She has her own ideas about how Nina should handle her emails-and about getting to know her ghostwriter. When she tells Nina she should be writing again, Nina suddenly finds it less scary to revisit her abandoned life than seriously consider that Ari is flirting with her. Between reconnecting with her old crew and working on a new script, a relationship with a movie star seems like something she'll definitely mess up-but what could be more worth the risk?
Amy Spalding's For Her Consideration is full of heat and heart as Nina learns that her story just might include the kind of love that lasts.
“A warm celebration of Los Angeles, chosen family, and learning how to love and be loved.”-Cameron Esposito, bestselling author of Save Yourself
“An optimistic, empathetic choice for readers, which highlights queer women pursuing creative careers and showcases a strong emotional growth arc.”-Library Journal
“A cozy comfort-read.”-Publishers Weekly

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

12/19/2022

Spalding makes her adult debut (after the YA No Boy Summer) with a sweet, queer contemporary that gives equal weight to familial and platonic love as to the central romance. Nina Rice works for a Hollywood talent agency through which she meets and starts to date up-and-coming queer actor Ari Fox. Despite the glossy L.A. setting, the ensuing love story feels like small-town romance because of Spalding’s focus on the cozy local spots familiar to Nina’s close-knit community. The warmth and comfort of familiarity pervade as the women go on dates and spend time with Nina’s friends and family, especially her beloved aunt Lorna. The conflict feels similarly low-key: due to a bad past relationship, Nina fears that she is “toxic”—when really she just needs therapy, something it takes her hip 30-something friends perhaps an unbelievable amount of time to suggest. Even so, the steady support of Nina’s chosen family alongside the seemingly inevitable romance with Ari make this a cozy comfort-read. Agent: Kate Testerman, KT Literary. (Mar.)

From the Publisher

Advance Praise for FOR HER CONSIDERATION

“With vibrant prose, a setting that is both upscale glam and homey comfort, and a thrumming, pounding, romantic heart, For Her Consideration is pure romance magic.” —Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners
 
For Your Consideration is so many things I want in a book: funny, sexy, and super queer. Spending time in Nina and Ari's world was a joy. Amy Spalding has written a warm celebration of Los Angeles, chosen family, and learning how to love and be loved.” —Cameron Esposito, bestselling author of Save Yourself

“I loved how joyful, how thoughtful, and how real For Her Consideration was. This book made me laugh out loud, smile big, and swoon hard. Amy Spalding made me adore Nina and her friends, fall in love with Nina and Ari, and want to live in their world forever.” —New York Times bestselling author Jasmine Guillory

“Flirty and fun, with romance and laughs on every page, For Her Consideration is a rom-com that truly embodies the term. I loved every moment of this book, from Nina and Ari’s love match, to their found families, to the Los Angeles-local backdrop. Spalding’s singular sense of humor and lovable characters make for a perfect escape. I tore through this with a smile on my face!” —Sarah Skilton, author of Fame Adjacent

“For Her Consideration by Amy Spalding is a charming romantic comedy with two winning heroines. I especially enjoyed the strong family bonds, including a truly delightful group of friends. My heart ached at the emotional moments and I giggled aloud at all the funny parts. I loved watching Ari and Nina learn to trust themselves and each other and follow their dreams. Cute and heartfelt, For Her Consideration is a highly recommended read.” —Erica Ridley, New York Times bestselling author of The Perks of Loving a Wallflower
 
“A fiercely funny, super sexy story about believing in your dreams, finding your chosen family, and letting yourself be loved. After reading For Her Consideration, I’m in love with both Los Angeles and Ari Fox. Amy Spalding has such a gift for snappy dialogue and loving, quirky friend groups, and I’ll read everything she writes.” —Kerry Winfrey, author of Just Another Love Song
 
For Her Consideration is incredibly funny, queer, sweet, and sexy. Anyone with a toxic ex or a serious celebrity crush will be able to relate! It's about learning to trust yourself and the people in your life, and it's guaranteed to leave you smiling and wanting to hug your chosen family very hard.” —Celia Laskey, author of So Happy for You and Under the Rainbow

Library Journal

11/01/2022

Nina Rice moved to Los Angeles to be a writer, and technically she is: she works for a talent agency, answering emails in the voices of their celebrity clients. One of those clients, Ari Fox, is positioned to be the first out queer performer to win the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress (in a present-day world without Angelina Jolie or Ariana DeBose). Nina and Ari start spending time together so that Nina can better mimic Ari's voice, and they become fast friends. Their romance, when it takes off, is passionate, but it's only a piece of Nina's larger journey as she untangles a tough breakup from years earlier. Spalding focuses on Nina's broadly-creative friend group, rather than Ari's Hollywood scene and depicts a comfortable world. Nina's career worries are cushioned by an emotionally and financially supportive aunt, and Ari is depicted as groundbreaking in a generally heteronormative, but not overtly hostile, media landscape. VERDICT YA novelist Spalding's (We Used To Be Friends) adult debut is an optimistic, empathetic choice for readers, which highlights queer women pursuing creative careers and showcases a strong emotional growth arc.—Katelyn Browne

Product Details

BN ID: 2940178307878
Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC
Publication date: 02/21/2023
Edition description: Unabridged
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews