Frank Sinatra

Frank Sinatra

by John Frayn Turner


$23.56 $24.95 Save 6% Current price is $23.56, Original price is $24.95. You Save 6%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, April 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 


Frank Sinatra by John Frayn Turner

Frank Sinatra is an international icon who continues to hold endless fascination for millions of fans. In this authoritative biography, John Frayn Turner examines every aspect of Ol' Blue Eyes' charisma, character, life, loves, failings, and fame. Fresh and objective-and not obsessed with mafia allegations-it is a book about Sinatra the good guy as well as the bad. From his humble beginnings in working class Hoboken, to his start in the business singing with Harry James and Tommy Dorsey, through the scandals, the loves, the music and the movies, Frank Sinatra looks closely at Sinatra the singer, actor, philanthropist, and man-a three-dimensional view of a complex genius.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781589791459
Publisher: Taylor Trade Publishing
Publication date: 08/28/2004
Pages: 240
Product dimensions: 6.76(w) x 9.22(h) x 0.93(d)

About the Author

John Frayn Turner was born in Portsmouth, England, and served in the British Royal Navy during the 1940s. He is the internationally known author of twenty-seven books and has been closely associated with all the arts. He was managing editor of five prestige arts magazines-Art & Artists; Dance & Dancers; Films & Filming; Music & Musicians; Plays & Players. Turner was also a critic for the Stage Newspaper, London, and a music reviewer for many years.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 Hoboken, Nancy, and the Rustic Cabin,1915–1939 Chapter 2 Poised for Stardom, 1939–1942 Chapter 3 The Swoonatra Era, 1942–1945 Chapter 4 Hollywood, 1945–1949 Chapter 5 Enter Ava, Exit Nancy, 1950–1953 Chapter 6 From Here to Eternity, 1954–1957 Chapter 7 Revival, 1957 Chapter 8 A Very Good Year, 1962 Chapter 9 A Very Good Year, 1962 Chapter 10 Ring-a-Ding-Ding, 1962–1963 Chapter 11 From Vegas and the Clan to Carnegie Hall,1963–1969 Chapter 12 London at Midnight, 1970–1973 Chapter 13 About the Author

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews