Here Comes Valentine Cat

Here Comes Valentine Cat

Hardcover

$15.75 $16.99 Save 7% Current price is $15.75, Original price is $16.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Here Comes Valentine Cat by Deborah Underwood, Claudia Rueda

The New York Times bestselling Cat is back just in time for Valentine’s Day—but he’s not interested in giving a valentine to any old dog. This homage to classic comic strips is perfect for fans of Pete the Cat, Bad Kitty, Mo Willems’s Elephant and Piggie books, and of course, Cat’s two previous capers, Here Comes the Easter Cat and Here Comes Santa Cat.
 
Cat does NOT like Valentine's Day. It's much too mushy, and no way is he making anyone a valentine—especially not his new neighbor, Dog. Dog refuses to respect the fence: He keeps tossing over old bones and hitting Cat in the head! But just as Cat’s about to send Dog an angry "valentine" telling him exactly what he can do with his bones, Dog throws a ball over the fence. What is Dog playing at? Cat is in for a hilarious—and heartwarming—surprise in this story about being perhaps too quick to judge.

A great Valentine's Day gift for any age—read it on Valentine's Day and year-round!

"A charmer."The Washington Post
★ “Wickedly fun.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Endearing . . . beautifully pitched comic timing.”Kirkus 
“Fresh and satisfying . . . Empowers kids.”BCCB
“Simple but expressive . . . A favorite.” —SLJ

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780525429159
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 12/22/2015
Pages: 88
Sales rank: 871,640
Product dimensions: 7.10(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.70(d)
Lexile: 50L (what's this?)
Age Range: 3 - 5 Years

About the Author

Deborah Underwood is the author several picture books, including the New York Times bestseller The Quiet Book, Bad Bye, Good Bye, and Cat’s other adventures: Here Comes the Easter Cat, Here Comes Santa Cat, and the upcoming Here Comes the Tooth Fairy Cat. Deborah lives in San Francisco with her cat, Bella, who inspired Cat’s hijinks.
 
Claudia Rueda is the author/illustrator of several picture books, including Is It Big or Is It Little, Huff and Puff, My Little Polar Bear, and of course, Cat’s previous adventures.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Here Comes Valentine Cat 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
KateUnger More than 1 year ago
This book was another cute story about Cat. The narrator is asking Cat what he's going to do for Valentines Day and whether he's going to make a card for someone. Cat is complaining about the new dog next door. He's too loud and keeps throwing bones over the fence and hitting Cat. Cat makes a few not so nice cards for Dog, and as usual the narrator reprimands him. When Dog sends his own Valentine over the fence, Cat realizes he's been wrong to judge Dog. Maybe he's just lonely. He changes his mind and makes a nice Valentine. Again, I love the moral. I love how Cat doesn't speak. He only communicates with signs and facial expressions. This book wasn't quite as silly as some of the others, but it was still a very enjoyable read for both my son (age 5.5) and me. http://www.momsradius.com/2016/02/kid-lit-here-comes-valentine-cat.html
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 4-year old is a huge fan of Deborah Underwood's "Here Comes...Cat" series. Valentine Cat is her new favorite because of the introduction of the dog next door. What's great about this series is that toddlers and kids can identify with Cat. He comically spends time trying to get one over (on the Easter Bunny, on Santa, the Tooth Fairy) but ultimately is a Cat with a good heart who does the right thing, whether helping or sharing. For parents, these are books you can keep reading without tiring of because of the wit, and because the lessons of helping and sharing aren't heavy handed.