Hotter Than Helltown (Preternatural Affairs, #3)

Hotter Than Helltown (Preternatural Affairs, #3)

by SM Reine

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Hotter Than Helltown (Preternatural Affairs, #3) by SM Reine

Welcome to New York Times Bestselling Author SM Reine's Preternatural Affairs series, for fans of The Dresden Files and The Iron Druid Chronicles...

A killer is mutilating bodies in Los Angeles. Agent Cèsar Hawke is on the case, but the murderer is ahead of him. Way ahead of him.

Wiping the memories of the dead so that the team’s necrocognitive can’t talk to them? Done. Preventing magical reconstruction of the crime scenes? Oh yeah. And the murders keep getting more brutal while Cèsar struggles to catch up.

The best way to heat up a cold case is to go to Helltown, where Los Angeles’s most powerful evil hides out, but even those demons are afraid of the murderer. Their fear adds one more question to the growing pile of unknowns:

What kind of bad guy is too hot for Helltown?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781498948371
Publisher: Red Iris Books
Publication date: 06/23/2014
Series: Preternatural Affairs , #3
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 38,700
File size: 305 KB

About the Author

Thanks for reading! Please consider leaving a review on the website where you bought the book. It helps others find the series!

Visit my website to sign up for new release email alerts. You'll be among the first to know when I publish books!

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Hotter Than Helltown (Preternatural Affairs, #3) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not quite your typical paranormal story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The third volume in Reine's Preternatural Affairs series picks up shortly after the second book. Cesar is still an awesome, self-deprecating hero and Suzy is a great partner. I love the addition of Lucrezia de Angelis, and I hope we see more of witch Yelena in the next book. Oh, and I love how more of the unusual cosmology is being revealed. Definitely recommended to fans of Reine, as well as fans of Seanan McGuire, Gini Koch, and Devon Monk. -- lyradora
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
**I received a copy of this ARC for an honest review** This is the first book I have read by this author. I was definitely curious especially since it is in a man's point of view. This is the third book in the Preternatural Affairs series. It follows a male witch, Cesar Hawke, as he and his partner have to solve a crime involving mutilated dead bodies that are popping up all over the place. It took me a little while to get to this book, but once I got into it, I didn't put it down until I was done. Cesar is absolutely hilarious. I found him squeamish, unsure of himself, always seems to have a plan, and yet very likable. He is also very loyal to his partner and his director. Towards the end of the book, he is able to find the confidence he needs to pull off some hard magic and save his boss. I look forward to reading more books with him in it.
SoIReadThisBookToday More than 1 year ago
Ah! César and friends are back again – and this time, his murder case may just kill him. That is, if his boss doesn’t kill him first. After the action in the second in the Preternatural Affairs series, Silver Bullet, César is in big trouble. He used a cell phone he shouldn’t have, and the VP of the Office of Preternatural Affairs is out for César’s guts – literally. And if César doesn’t pass his Aspis exam, to become Shield to Director Fritz Friederling, she just might have said guts for garters. Could things get worse? Well, sure they can! For there is a vicious demon on the loose, a demon strong enough to kill a Kopis by simply being in the area. With more bodies dropping, all brutally savaged, the race is on as César, his partner Suzy, Isobel the necrocognitive, and Fritz all scramble to find the demon. A demon who may be unkillable. As always, Reine does a wonderful job of writing a tight narrative that keeps you on the edge of your seat, using a level of creativity that I truly admire. There is terror and blood, but also a great deal of subtle humor in Reine’s works. I enjoyed the first two in the series, and can hardly wait for Sara’s next César book! Highly recommended. If you haven’t read the first two, I would suggest reading them first. They are really good books, but if you haven’t read them, you can catch up easily enough in this volume. However, it won’t be nearly as much fun! I received Hotter Than Helltown from the publisher in return for a realistic review. All thoughts are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great addition to Preternatural series.  Cesar is one of my favorite characters from all of SM Reine's books.  Can't wait for #4. 176 Nook pages.