Jericho: A Novel

Jericho: A Novel

by Alex Gordon

Paperback

$13.81 $14.99 Save 8% Current price is $13.81, Original price is $14.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 27

Overview

For readers of Deborah Harkness, J.D. Horn, Lev Grossman, and any supernatural thriller, a young witch must risk death and damnation to defeat a powerful ancient evil in Alex Gordon's follow-up to the masterful debut Gideon.

In unearthing her father’s secret past, Lauren Reardon discovered a shocking truth about herself. She is a Child of Endor, a sect of witches who believe they are the guardians of the “thin places”—areas across the globe where evil can seep through the divide between the worlds separating the living and the restless dead. At any time, she can be called upon to close one of these breaches and prevent demons from infiltrating our realm. When Lauren has a disturbing vision of an Oregon forest, she is drawn back to the familiar woods of the misty Pacific Northwest to investigate.

Locals had long whispered about an abandoned logging camp known as Jericho—of the strange disappearances and eerie sounds heard in the woods deep in the night. But these ghost stories only hint at the true evil lurking within the camp’s dilapidated buildings, a primeval malevolence far more terrifying than Lauren’s darkest imaginings. And now, Lauren must face this evil, even if it takes her life . . . even if it costs her soul.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061687389
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 04/05/2016
Pages: 400
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Alex Gordon resides in the Midwest. When she isn’t working, she enjoys watching sports and old movies, running, and playing with her dogs. She dreams of someday adding the Pacific Northwest to the list of regions where she has lived. She is the author of Gideon.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Jericho: A Novel 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
SherryF More than 1 year ago
After reading Gideon by Alex Gordon, my expectations were very high for Jericho. Any fears I had were unwarranted. Jericho is the second book of this supernatural thriller series and I was just as enraptured with Lauren’s continuing story as I had hoped to be. Gavin should have heeded the warnings…Phantom orchids…shelf fungus…on his search for a photo of Jericho for his soon-to-be website. Being a photographer and blogger, I love it. Alex adds special bits throughout the story, making it a novel that rises above the rest. In Gideon, Lauren was “called” from her home on the West Coast to Gideon, Illinois. Now she is being “called” back…to Oregon to be more precise. The evil is subtle, whispering all the things you want to here, offering all the things your heart desires. I am captured, taken on the winds of flight, soon to be in Portland and meeting the Carmody Group. Which side are they on? Good or evil? I hope Lauren is fully prepared for Witch Camp. Organized witchcraft is not Lauren’s forte. She operates by the seat of her pants. I loved watching her grow and develop from being unaware of her powers to laying her life on the line to take down evil and save us all. Alex Gordon’s storytelling gift is alive and well in this wonderful novel of paranormal horror. Sometimes I forgot that it wasn’t real. I can hardly wait to read more as the ending left the story with plenty more tales to be told, all while wrapping up the current story. I received a copy of Jericho by Alex Gordon in return for an honest review.
Trinitytwo More than 1 year ago
The residents of Gideon, Illinois are witches who follow the teachings of the Lady of Endor. They are entrusted to guard the thin places where supernatural evil seeks to gain entrance into our world. Newcomer Lauren Reardon has been acknowledged as their most powerful practitioner since her victory over the demons that assailed the town six months earlier. Lauren begins hearing voices beckoning her to a thin place somewhere in the Pacific Northwest. She reluctantly agrees to travel to the secluded woods of Portland Oregon to a gathering of people with similar talents sponsored by business mogul Andrew Carmody. Upon arrival, Lauren recognizes that her host has ulterior motives for inviting her and the others to his home. Carmody's Peak is said to be cursed and at the nearby abandoned logging town of Jericho, Lauren senses an otherworldly malevolence lurking in its many shadows. As events unfold, Lauren realizes that the abandoned town of Jericho may not be as empty as she was led to believe. Jericho, Alex Gordon's second book featuring Lauren Reardon, is fraught with tense action and page turning mystery. Due to the setting of Andrew Carmody's high powered world, Jericho has a more modern feel than its predecessor Gideon. This changes the tone of the series slightly which is worth noting because readers looking for the same type of glimpses into the past provided in Gideon may be disappointed. Unlike Gideon, Jericho and its enigmas are as much a puzzle to the protagonist as they are to the reader. Lauren is a very sympathetic character. Although she's still reeling from the events in Gideon and the secret past her father kept hidden from his family, she continues to persevere. She is appealing because despite her flaws, she's a strong hero that is both compassionate and courageous. Jericho weaves a web of thrills and chills that is filled with startling plot twists and nail biting action. The woods and their mysterious inhabitants are tangibly ominous, and Jericho's repugnant evil is the stuff of nightmares. However, the plot is somewhat convoluted and I was left feeling both partially disappointed that some of the mysteries remained unanswered, and partially relieved that the graphic details were not disclosed. I enjoyed Jericho's fast pace, its strong female protagonist and its supernatural elements. Overall, Jericho is engaging and eerie and I would recommend this story to readers who delight in things that go bump in the night. Alex Gordon's series featuring Lauren Reardon is a winner. There's a new witch in town so evil beware! Jericho can be read as a standalone but I recommend readers start with Gideon, because that's where the story really begins.