Kennedy, Johnson, and the Quest for Justice: The Civil Rights Tapes

Kennedy, Johnson, and the Quest for Justice: The Civil Rights Tapes


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Kennedy, Johnson, and the Quest for Justice: The Civil Rights Tapes by Jonathan Rosenberg, Zachary Karabell

Peer inside the White House as Presidents Kennedy and Johnson grapple with racial injustice in America.
This remarkable book is composed of actual transcripts—most never before published—from the secret recordings that Presidents Kennedy and Johnson made of White House meetings and telephone conversations between the violent crisis in 1962, when James Meredith attempted to enroll at the all-white University of Mississippi, and the groundbreaking passage of the Civil Rights Act in 1964. Setting these transcripts within an historical narrative, Jonathan Rosenberg and Zachary Karabell present the story of America's struggle for racial equality during two tumultuous years.Kennedy, Johnson, and the Quest for Justice brings the reader into the room as Kennedy argues with Mississippi governor Ross Barnett and the white business leaders of Birmingham, Alabama, and as Johnson makes late-night phone calls to Martin Luther King Jr., NAACP head Roy Wilkins, and Washington Post publisher Katherine Graham. As fly-on-the-wall history, this book gives us an unprecedented grasp of the way the White House affected civil rights history and consequently transformed America. Part of the Presidential Recordings Project, Miller Center of Public Affairs, University of Virginia, General Editors: Ernest May and Philip Zelikow.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780393349719
Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date: 09/17/2003
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 0.00(w) x 0.00(h) x (d)

About the Author

Jonathan Rosenberg is the author of "How Far the Promised Land?": World Affairs and the U.S. Civil Rights Movement from World War I to Vietnam.

Zachary Karabell is the author of several books, including The Last Campaign: How Harry Truman Won the 1948 Election.

Table of Contents

The Presidential Recordings Projectix
Chapter 1The Twentieth-Century Struggle9
Chapter 2Ole Miss27
Chapter 3Protest in Birmingham85
Chapter 4The Bill and the March114
Chapter 5Bombs in Birmingham141
Chapter 6The Bill Moves Forward174
Chapter 7Johnson Takes Over194
Chapter 8Through the House224
Chapter 9Into the Senate253
Chapter 10The Final Fight282
Bibliographic Essay339
Key Players345
Summary of Civil Rights Act of 1964349

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews