King's Cage (Red Queen Series #3)

King's Cage (Red Queen Series #3)

by Victoria Aveyard

Hardcover

$17.99 $19.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

The third book in the thrilling #1 New York Times bestselling series!

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen series, rebellion is rising and allegiances will be tested on every side. Perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series.

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother's web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare's heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

And don’t miss Broken Throne: A Red Queen Collection, featuring three brand-new novellas and other exclusive content!

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

02/13/2017
Leashed like an animal and trotted out as a trophy of war, Mare Barrow passes her 18th birthday imprisoned by King Maven and turned into a puppet of a propaganda machine bent on destroying the Scarlet Guard. In this third installment of the Red Queen series, Aveyard’s frenetic action sequences initially take a backseat to the patient study of Mare’s captivity. But there are still plenty of schemes amid royal fissures and ill-fated rescues, an assassination attempt, and raging battles on multiple fronts to help this story keep pace with the previous installments. A newblood struggling with her deadly abilities and a princess begrudgingly betrothed to Maven narrate a few chapters of their own, but the majority of the tale is again seen through the eyes of Aveyard’s “little lightning girl,” who remains a relatable and deeply flawed heroine. Concluding as hope dwindles that the Reds will ever be free of the Silver crown, Aveyard adeptly sets the scene for a fourth book to follow, amid a war not yet won. Ages 13–up. Agent: Suzie Townsend, New Leaf Literary & Media. (Feb.)

Booklist

PRAISE FOR GLASS SWORD: “High-stakes excitement and sharp plot twists…make this a fast-paced, exciting read and a thrilling sequel.

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

[Aveyard] sets her audience up for a gaspworthy twist that reconfigures nearly every character’s role and leaves Mare with no one to trust but herself... This blend of fantasy and dystopia will be an unexpected and worthy addition to many genre fans’ reading list.

USA Today

PRAISE FOR RED QUEEN: “A sizzling, imaginative thriller, where romance and revolution collide, where power and justice duel. It’s exhilarating. Compelling. Action-packed. Unputdownable.

USA Today

PRAISE FOR RED QUEEN: “A sizzling, imaginative thriller, where romance and revolution collide, where power and justice duel. It’s exhilarating. Compelling. Action-packed. Unputdownable.

Booklist

PRAISE FOR GLASS SWORD: “High-stakes excitement and sharp plot twists…make this a fast-paced, exciting read and a thrilling sequel.

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

[Aveyard] sets her audience up for a gaspworthy twist that reconfigures nearly every character’s role and leaves Mare with no one to trust but herself... This blend of fantasy and dystopia will be an unexpected and worthy addition to many genre fans’ reading list.

Stephanie Garber

Aveyard weaves a compelling new world of action-packed surprises... inventive, character-driven.

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

[Aveyard] sets her audience up for a gaspworthy twist that reconfigures nearly every character’s role and leaves Mare with no one to trust but herself... This blend of fantasy and dystopia will be an unexpected and worthy addition to many genre fans’ reading list.

Kirkus Reviews

2017-03-06
The "lightning girl" who once led a revolution now toils, powerless and imprisoned, in this continuation of the Red Queen series.After turning herself over in exchange for the lives of her friends, Mare Barrow becomes King Maven's puppet. She waits, locked in a room, her lightning drained by Arvens—Silvers who leach power. But Maven has grander plans for her. And if she wants to keep the newbloods safe, she must comply. Mare broadcasts a lie that she willingly surrendered herself to the king after the Scarlet Guard forced her into servitude. She paints the Scarlet Guard as murderers, paving the way for Maven to offer refuge to newbloods in hopes of amassing an army. Otherwise, he'll just keep hunting them. Political machinations rumble while both the king and the Scarlet Guard form new alliances. As Mare bides her time, she confronts uncomfortable feelings for Maven—she's his greatest weakness, but can she kill him? Complementing Mare's narration, Cameron, a newblood, relates the movements of the Scarlet Guard, and Evangeline, Maven's betrothed, offers insight into the deadly House Samos. Few bursts of action stir up this slow-burning installment, allowing the dizzyingly large fleet of characters room to gain new depth. Mare's romantic entanglements shift and sizzle, but the true intrigue lies in the ever expanding war for the crown as the players grow and change games. Aside from dark-skinned Cameron, the principal cast appears to be white, although the caste system based on the distinctions between Red and Silver blood holds more sway in this fantasy world than race. Simmering with internal conflict and well-devised courtly scheming—but readers new to the series had best start with Book 1. (Fantasy. 13-adult)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062310699
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/07/2017
Series: Red Queen Series , #3
Pages: 528
Sales rank: 21,774
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.90(d)
Lexile: HL700L (what's this?)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews