Last Summer in Arcadia: A passionate novel about love, friendship and betrayal

Last Summer in Arcadia: A passionate novel about love, friendship and betrayal

by Deirdre Purcell

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

One summer changes everything...

From the No 1 Irish bestselling author Deirdre Purcell comes Last Summer in Arcadia, a novel of marriage, family and survival. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy and Cathy Kelly.

'Intimate, yet distinct. Purcell juggles voices deftly to deliver a snappy read, releasing revelations with mounting tension' - Irish Independent

The tension is palpable as Tess and Jerry Brennan sit in the drawing room of their wonderful house high above the sea, waiting for the police to arrive. Tess is facing the consequences of her own actions, innocently undertaken but devastating in their outcome; Jerry has been caught out in a misdemeanour, a transgression men have made since time began but one that in his case has repercussions that will mean the end of a successful career. Adding to Tess's agitation is the knowledge that her two best friends are facing parallel traumas of their own. Life skated along for the three couples until last summer when they all travelled to the village of Collioure in the south of France. Now they have everything to lose: their marriages, their family lives, and their friendships.

What readers are saying about Deirdre Purcell:

'Unerringly perceptive, Last Summer in Arcadia is a compellingly written, powerful exploration of the complex mix of love, trust and compromise'

'Warm, insightful, funny and poignant'

'Five stars'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780755392018
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing, Limited
Publication date: 03/15/2012
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 982,602
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Deirdre Purcell was born and brought up in Dublin, and educated there and in a County Mayo convent. Before turning to the writing of fiction, she lived through an eclectic set of careers, including acting, as a member of the permanent company of Irelan&dgrave;s National Theatre 'The Abbe&ygrave;, and journalism for all media - for which she won Irelan&dgrave;s top awards.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews