Last Train to Babylon: A Novel

Last Train to Babylon: A Novel

by Charlee Fam

Paperback(Original)

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 28

Overview

Fans of Alice Sebold and John Green will be transfixed by this sophisticated, edgy debut novel packing dark humor, biting wit, and a lot of Jack Daniels.

Who put the word fun in funeral? I can’t think of anything fun about Rachel’s funeral, except for the fact that she won’t be there.

Aubrey Glass has a collection of potential suicide notes—just in case. And now, five years—and five notes—after leaving her hometown, Rachel’s the one who goes and kills herself. Aubrey can’t believe her luck.

But Rachel’s death doesn’t leave Aubrey in peace. There’s a voicemail from her former friend, left only days before her death, that Aubrey can’t bring herself to listen to—and worse, a macabre memorial-turned-high-school reunion that promises the opportunity to catch up with everyone . . . including the man responsible for everything that went wrong between Aubrey and Rachel.

In the days leading up to the funeral and infamous after party, Aubrey slips seamlessly between her past and present. Memories of friendship tangle with painful new encounters while underneath it all Aubrey feels the rush of something closing in, something she can no longer run from. And when the past and present collide in one devastating night, nothing will be the same again.

But facing the future means confronting herself and a shattering truth. Now, Aubrey must decide what will define her: what lies behind . . . or what waits ahead.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062328076
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/28/2014
Edition description: Original
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 1,273,298
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Charlee Fam is a twentysomething novelist living in New York City. A native of Long Island, she graduated from Binghamton University in 2010 with a degree in creative writing and several awards to her name. Last Train to Babylon is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Last Train to Babylon: A Novel 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The protagonist of this poorly written non-story does nothing but drink,crunch Xanax,abuse people verbally and physically and break things while screaming self pitying obscenities.The characters are undeveloped and unsympathetic and their supposed traumas are puerile and insignificant. I suffered through to the end thinking that something might actually happen but no... don't waste your money.
LSalt More than 1 year ago
"Last Train to Babylon" cuts through the clutter of modern day non-fiction.  We sometimes get caught up in the warm and fuzzy love stories or futuristic hypotheses that we forget to remember real life.  This raw depiction of the main character's journey is enlightening, showing her side of the story that the people around her would never care to notice or explore until it's too late.  I can't wait to read more from Charlee Fam in her novels to come.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved this sweet dark novel, it had me spell bound from the start.....my only regret I was done in one day.. Can't wait to see what this author has next
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hands down one of the best books I've read this year. That is all. 
DudleyS More than 1 year ago
It was through shear stubbornness that I finished this book. This book is written from Aubrey's point of view, both as an adult after Rachel commits suicide and throughout their childhood years leading up to the events that ended their friendship. My biggest issue, and sadly I have more than one, with the book is, there is never a time when you give a darn about Aubrey. So, by the time the traumatic events happen, things that should elicit feelings of sympathy, rage, etc. in the reader, all you feel is apathetic. From the youngest age we are introduced to Aubrey at, she is uncaring, unfeeling, mouthy. She doesn't like being hugged, even before the traumatic events. As an adult she is all of these things and worse. Because Aubrey is unlikable both as a child and an adult, the reader has nothing to grasp onto in order to care about her, in order to relate to her. There was no character development throughout the book. It would have worked far better if, when the author introduces us to Aubrey back in elementary school, Aubrey had some charming characteristics. I would have preferred for Aubrey to start out as a mostly "normal" and nice young girl, and overtime as as Rachel's personality overtook their friendship, then to see Aubrey's character become more like how she was from the get go. From a plot standpoint, this book dragged on and the pace of the read was a constant "slow." The writer included scenes that didn't move the plot/characters forward, nor did she use techniques to heighten tension in places where the reader should have felt a ton of emotion. In addition to including scenes which didn't move the plot forward, the writing was repetitive. The concept for this book was excellent, the execution was lackluster. This author is a good writer, but a poor storyteller. What I mean by that is, think of two people reading a book to a group of first graders. The first person is able to read all of the words, but it's flat and non-engaging. Technically, they are a good reader. The second person uses voices for each character, uses body language, and the kids are drawn in. They are a great storyteller. There are numerous less technically skilled authors I have given higher reviews to because, even though their writing wasn't the best, they had me engaged, feeling, and caring throughout the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure someone my age would love this novel....what a surprise....I loved it! I can't wait for Fam's next book and hoping Last Train toBabylon is made into a movie.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Aubrey returns home to bury a friend that maybe wasn't the best of friend in the end and there is a reason why this friendship didn't make it to adulthood, but the reader is left in the dark for a bit to wonder what happened to these two friends.   Switching between present time and past stories, this book takes the reader on the journey of two friends and maybe isn't the most positive of friendships!  Without completely ruining the core of the book, I loved how the reader finds out what really happened to make this friendship unravel and it made my thoughts change about both Aubrey and her "ex" best friend Rachel - it is kind of fun when your opinions change on characters.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best novels of 2014. Captivating and I loved the dark humor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book!! Can't wait to see what Fam comes up with next!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in one day...I could not put it down!