Leadership and Training for the Fight: Using Special Operations Principles to Succeed in Law Enforcement, Business, and War

Leadership and Training for the Fight: Using Special Operations Principles to Succeed in Law Enforcement, Business, and War

by Paul R. Howe

Paperback

$13.46 $14.95 Save 10% Current price is $13.46, Original price is $14.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Leadership and Training for the Fight: Using Special Operations Principles to Succeed in Law Enforcement, Business, and War by Paul R. Howe

  • Ideal for fans of Dave Grossman, Paul Howe, George Thompson, and other authors of police books
  • A brilliant military intelligence book that shares leadership and training for the fight
  • Includes riveting stories of military operations

In Leadership and Training for the Fight, MSG Paul R. Howe, U.S. Army Retired, shares his thoughts on leadership that he has developed through extensive combat experience. Howe analyzes leadership concepts. He also provides advice on how to understand students and to change your teaching methods. This military and leadership training book is based on Howe’s unique insight as a Special Operations soldier. Leadership and Training for the Fight is the perfect guide for anyone interested in improving their leadership skills, whether in military or civilian situations.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781616083045
Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing
Publication date: 07/13/2011
Pages: 464
Sales rank: 495,718
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

MSG Paul R. Howe, US Army Retired served in the US Army for more than twenty years, retiring as a master sergeant, having spent much of his time in Special Operations as an assault team leader, sniper, and senior instructor. His service in the Battle of Mogadishu was popularized by the Mark Bowden book Black Hawk Down and the Hollywood movie of the same name. In 2000, Howe founded Combat Shooting and Tactics. He lives in Nacogdoches, Texas.

Table of Contents

Note to Reader IX

Preface XI

Introduction: Accelerating the Loop XVII

Part I The Mentality and Actualization of Leadership 1

1 Combat Mind-set 3

2 Individual Leadership 31

3 Selection 57

4 Team Leadership 75

5 Organizational Leadership 99

6 Combat Leadership 113

7 Training for the Fight 129

8 Leadership Planning 161

9 Counseling and Mentorship 175

10 Realities of Combat and Tactical Tips 191

Part II Tactical Instruction and Leadership in the Field 203

11 Developing Yourself into a Good Student 205

12 Developing a Teaching Mind-set 223

13 Understanding the Student 237

14 Understanding the Whole 251

15 Developing Tools to Teach a Class 267

16 Developing a Specific Course Curriculum 287

17 Validation and Refining Your Instruction 301

18 Managing High-Risk Training: General Concepts 313

19 Managing High-Risk Training: The Tactical Rifle and Pistol Instructor Models 327

20 Managing High-Risk Training: Shoot House Instructor 341

21 Managing Leadership Training: The Tactical Team Leader 353

22 Safety 369

23 Technical Skills, Tactical Skills, and Their Integration 383

24 Maintaining the Instructor Edge 389

25 Selection or Training Courses 395

26 Training Combat Mind-set 407

27 The Profession of Training 413

Glossary of Terms and Abbreviations 419

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Leadership and Training for the Fight 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Good Team Leaders Win The Fight"
Adam Paxton More than 1 year ago
A great book on leadership that is simple, to the point and easy to understand. I would recommend this to leaders at all levels within the military as there are lessons for all. Again, great book. One of my favorites.
Lisa French More than 1 year ago
We use this book and the lessons within daily, do not meet standards exceed them, Patrol
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago