Left: A Love Story

Left: A Love Story

by Mary Hogan

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22

Overview

In this beautifully crafted novel from the author of the critically-acclaimed Two Sisters, comes the story of a woman who retreats into a fantasy world on New York City’s Upper West Side as she slowly loses her once whip-smart husband to dementia—perfect for fans of Still Alice.

When life falls apart, a little fantasy goes a long way…

It started as a dream vacation in Spain, with Fay and Paul Agarra enjoying all the delights of a European holiday. A respected New York City judge, Paul has always been the man Fay can rely on, no matter what. When he inexplicably disappears from a Barcelona street corner, Fay knows something is terribly wrong. Once reunited, Paul shrugs off the episode as a simple misunderstanding—but Fay suspects her almost perfect life has taken a dark and sudden turn.

Soon there are more signs that Paul is beginning to change. Bouts of forgetfulness lead to mistakes in the courtroom. Simple tasks cause unexplainable outbursts of anger. Fay’s worst suspicions are realized when she learns her husband—her rock, her love, her everything—is succumbing to the ravages of dementia. 

As her husband transforms before her very eyes, Fay copes with her fears by retreating into a fantasy life filled with promise instead of pain. In Fay’s invented world, she imagines herself living a glamorous life free from heartache, with a handsome neighbor she barely knows rescuing her from a future she can’t accept. 

Poignant and beautifully crafted, Left is an unforgettable tale about life’s aching uncertainties—and a woman who discovers that somewhere between hope and reality, an unexpected future will find its way forward.

 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062678379
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/19/2018
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 401,639
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

 Mary Hogan is the bestselling author of Two Sisters and the historical novel, The Woman in the Photo. Previous novels include the young adult titles, The Serious Kiss, Perfect Girl and Pretty Face (HarperCollins). Mary lives in New York City with her husband, actor Robert Hogan, and their Catahoula Leopard rescue dog, Lucy. maryhogan.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Left: A Love Story 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
An epic love story about a couple later in life. Fay and Paul Agarra are on their dream vacation and a few things go a little array. This sends this couple down a path that they are not prepared for and will change them forever. I loved this short and sweet little book. With just over 250 pages and some big font in the copy I was reading, this was a perfect read for a day at the pool. It was easy to get into this story and learn about this couple, how they met, how they fell in love and how their lives were changing in their later years. I love when stories make me think about where I am at in life and remind me to count each day as a blessing and life it to the fullest because you don't know what tomorrow holds. I don't want to say too much about this book, because it is so little and would be easy to spoil. But I liked how the author told the top moments of their love story, it all seemed fluid and right. We were reading stories of their past in the midst of the present and it just worked so well. I loved this story and am excited to pass it onto others as a great example of a sweet and simple story about love.
Holly More than 1 year ago
Left is more than just a love story, it's a story about a couple who has to endure one of life's most difficult times; succumbing to dementia. It all starts during a dream vacation in Spain for Fay and Paul that Fay notices that Paul is off a bit, it's then that you start to see that Paul isn't right. As you see Paul fading to the horror that dementia is, Fay in my mind starts acting out by having this fantasy life with a complete stranger while her entire world at home is falling apart. This book isn't a love story in my mind, it's more of what a disease like dementia can do to a couple. It was truly heartbreaking to read this book for what is happening but I felt as well that Fay could have been made into a better character than what she was. The things she did was confusing at times and with having Paul have dementia, it just made this a really sad book rather be a love story that this book claims to be. The thing I did love about it was the simple fact that the Author wasn't afraid to show what dementia can do to a person and the ones that they love. Thank You to Mary Hogan for this book that had me showing all kinds of emotions that left me wondering what is coming next from you! I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book from the Publisher!
alfFL More than 1 year ago
A Missed Opportunity What should have been a poignant story about a devastating disease told with humor turns out to be insulting to a large part of the readership. Left is not only the title to describe the feeling of the care giver, but also the politics of the author. The protagonist struggles with the emerging symptoms her husband is demonstrating and finds herself fantasying about a good looking stranger. She contrives to meet him, only to discover that upon closer inspection he is really a dirty-fingernailed, gun dealer who , horrors of horrors, doesn't believe in the holy grail, global warming!!! Obviously, she muses, he is of small intellect- reads the NY Post unlike her greater intellect whose bible is the NY Times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very good book I enjoyed it close to home I guess that is why
mamalovestoread22 More than 1 year ago
To an outsider looking in most would think Fay and Paul Agarra have the perfect marriage, they make time for one another, take special trips together, and always put one another first. But then something changes, Fay begins to notice changes in her husband, his behavior is all over the place, and sometimes he forgets how to do the simplest things. It's like he is stuck in a fog and struggling to find his way out, but when she mentions it to him, it winds up putting a huge rift between them, and she is at a complete loss. What happened to the man she fell head over heels in love with, the one who put their happiness first, and was always in a good mood? Soon she finds herself dreaming about living in a different world, her fantasy world, one that is free of pain and agony. It gives her a chance to escape all of the life alternating changes happening in her world, and gives her something to look forward to, even if it isn't necessarily real. Just a place she can go when the world around her becomes too much to deal with... Left is a deeply moving tale about a woman who watches her marriage and the man she loves slip away when he is diagnosed with dementia. The beautifully crafted story line will pull you from the first page, and take you on an unforgettable and heart-breaking journey, you just can't but feel for these characters. This was a first time read for me, and I have to say it left a pretty memorable impression, one that is certain to stick with me for a while. I highly recommend this one, it's eye opening tale that should not be missed!