Louder Than Hell: The Definitive Oral History of Metal

Louder Than Hell: The Definitive Oral History of Metal

by Jon Wiederhorn, Katherine Turman


$19.79 $21.99 Save 10% Current price is $19.79, Original price is $21.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 21

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061958298
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 04/29/2014
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 768
Sales rank: 421,485
Product dimensions: 8.90(w) x 6.00(h) x 1.60(d)

About the Author

Jon Wiederhorn is a veteran rock journalist who wrote the authorized biography Ministry: The Lost Gospels of Al Jourgensen and is currently working with Anthrax guitarist Scott Ian on his memoir I'm the Man, due in 2014. In the past, he has worked on editorial staffs at Rolling Stone, Guitar magazine, and MTV. He is a senior writer for Revolver magazine and regularly writes for major publications, including Guitar World, emusic.com, and SPIN. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Katherine Turman is a journalist and the producer of Alice Cooper's syndicated radio show, Nights with Alice Cooper. She was the editor of RIP magazine and the LA Alternative Press and is a frequent contributor to the Village Voice. She formerly produced the live radio show Rockline, and was a music producer for The Sharon Osbourne Show. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Table of Contents

Foreword: in my World by Scott I an ix

Prologue: Heavy Metal Thunder 1

1 Kick Out the Jams: Proto Metal, 1964-1970 7

2 Masters of Reality: Sabbath, Priest, and Beyond, 1970-1979 29

3 British Steel: New Wave of British Heavy Metal Shapes the Future, 1980-Present 73

4 Youth Gone Wild: Metal Goes Mainstream, 1978-1992 121

5 Caught in a Mosh: Thrash Metal, 1981-1991 191

6 The Age of Quarrel: Crossover/Hardcore, 1977-1992 267

7 Far Beyond Driven: Thrash Revisited and Revised, 1987-2004 307

8 High-Tech Hate: Industrial, 1980-1997 365

9 All for the Mookie: Mu Metal, 1989-2002 407

10 Hammer Smashed Face: Death Metal, 1983-1993 459

11 In the Mightside Eclipse: Black Metal, 1982-Present 505

12 When Darkness Falls: Metalcore, 1992-2006 557

13 New American Gospel: Millennial Mental, 1992-Present 615

Conclusion: The End Complete 681

Afterword: Defender of the Faith by Rob Halford 685

Cast of Characters 687

Acknowledgments 705

Credits 709

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Louder Than Hell: The Definitive Oral History of Metal 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perfect for metal heads everywhere I know because my band zombies after brains read it nonstop.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago