Milestones and Stepping Stones: A Poetic Journey

Milestones and Stepping Stones: A Poetic Journey

by Oather Talley II


$13.50 $15.00 Save 10% Current price is $13.5, Original price is $15. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 11


Milestones and Stepping Stones is a collection of poetry written over the span of thirty years by the author, Oather Talley II, who uses poetic verse and metaphors to chronicle the milestone moments of life, love and loss. Separated into three sections, Book I reflects on the changing seasons and times of life, opening with "A Love for All Seasons," "Change is Gonna Come" and "We Had Our Season." Book II presents a series of love (and farewell to love) poems, including "A Love So Deep," "It Was Simply a Kiss" and "What Is Forever." Book III concludes with "A Man That Hath Friends," "FMJ" and "You Drive Me Crazy," a coming-of-age exploration of feelings, faith and friendships as they are tested, twisted and transformed through the fiery furnace of friction. Milestones is a light-hearted journeyman's journal of joy and pain, intermingled with gratitude and self-discovery. Punctuated with passion, humor and authenticity, it covers a variety of topics such as dementia, despair, self-care, spirituality, loneliness, lust, freedom and forgiveness. Milestones will resonate with poetry lovers and hopeful romantics alike.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781543943320
Publisher: BookBaby
Publication date: 09/10/2018
Pages: 76
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.30(d)

About the Author

Oather Talley II, a native Ohioan, earned his Bachelor's Degree in Religion from Denison University (Granville, OH) and went on to study Hebrew, Judaism and Theatre at Tel Aviv University in Israel. Currently an Office and Operations Manager, his background includes: event planning, promotions, customer service, public relations, staff development and training. He also served as the Community Relations Director with The Salvation Army of Central Ohio.A member of New Salem Baptist Church in Columbus, Ohio, Mr. Talley has led Sunday school classes, directed drama teams and served as the moderator for the Singles on the Vine singles ministry. This is Oather Talley's first publication.

Table of Contents

Preface ix

Book I Changing Seasons, Changing Times

A Love for All Seasons 2

Autumn Is Coming (Autumn Is Here) 3

Change Is Gonna Come 4

Come Back to Happy (Back to Me) 5

Come Home 6

Death of Hope (The) 8

Do You Feel My Pain 9

I Didn't Kiss Dating Good-Bye 10

I'm Still Waiting 11

In the Aftermath 12

It's Been Good To Be Here 13

Now That You're Gone 14

This Is What I Write About Now 15

Virtually Yours 16

We Had Our Season 17

When Love Changes Its Face 18

Where is the Love 20

Book II That's the Way Love Grows (and Sometimes Goes)

A Love So Deep 22

And Yet I Love You So 23

Does Absence Make the Heart Grow (or Go) 24

Heart of a Woman (The) 25

Her Name Is Sony 26

I Am Now at Peace 27

I Can Only Promise To Love You 28

I Love You 29

I Picked a Little Poppy 29

I Said, "Good-Bye" 30

I've Been Loved 31

It Was Simply a Kiss 32

Keeping Banker's Hours 33

Loving You 34

More Than Just a Hug 35

Someone Special 36

Sometimes… You 37

This Is Love 38

This Is What I Like About You 39

This Strange Thing Love 40

What Is Forever 41

Yes, I'm a Mess 42

Book III Feelings, Faith and Friendships

A Man That Hath Friends 45

Be Content and Confident 46

Center of God's Will (The) 47

FMJ 48

Friendship Is a Gift You Open Daily 49

God Is on My Side 50

Heal My Heart, Lord 51

I Want 51

Jeremiah Is Weeping 52

Love Is 54

Lust Is a Labyrinth 55

Once More I Am at Peace 56

Real Friends 57

Sleepless in Columbus 58

This Is a Hasty Poem 59

This Is G.O.D 60

When Troubles Press in 61

When You Are Sorry 62

Where No Water Is 63

You Drive Me Crazy 64

You're My Friend 65

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews