Narrow Dog to Indian River

Narrow Dog to Indian River

by Terry Darlington
2.8 8

Paperback

$10.69 $15.00 Save 29% Current price is $10.69, Original price is $15. You Save 29%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, September 26 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Narrow Dog to Indian River by Terry Darlington

From Virginia to Florida in an English canal boat.

Join the authors of “one of the most hilarious travel memoirs ever written”* on a wild odyssey aboard one of the most unlikely craft ever to sail U.S. waters.

No one had ever sailed an English narrowboat in the U.S. before—for reasons that become clear when Terry Darlington, his wife, Monica, and their well-traveled dog, a whippet named Jim, begin a nine-month voyage down the 1,150-mile Intracoastal Waterway. But no sooner do they set out in the seven-foot-wide Phyllis May than they encounter an ice storm in Virginia and piranhas in North Carolina. The Georgia coast is a madman’s jigsaw and in Florida the alligators wait patiently for Jim. But as they wend their way through golden marshes, incomparable cities, and lost arcadias, the intrepid trio aboard the beautiful painted boat reveals a South few of us have ever seen. And with frequent stops to dine on sweet tea, grits, and the freshest of the day’s catch, they make plenty of strange companions along the way—from wayfarers stopping to give Jim a good scratch behind the ears to ex–CIA agents and the Good Ole Boys of the Deep South—and discover that everyone has a story they’re only too willing to share.

Beautifully written, lovingly observed and very funny, Narrow Dog to Indian River takes you on a dangerous, surprising, and always entertaining journey through the wonderland of the South.

*Booklist

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385342094
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 04/28/2009
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 1,243,809
Product dimensions: 8.32(w) x 5.14(h) x 0.89(d)

About the Author

Terry Darlington was raised in Wales. He likes boating but doesn't know much about it. Monica Darlington has run thirty marathons and leaps tall buildings in a single bound. She likes boating. Brynula Great Expectations (Jim) is sprung from a long line of dogs with ridiculous names. Cowardly, thieving, and disrespectful, he hates boating.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Narrow Dog to Indian River 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nitnac More than 1 year ago
"Narrow Dog to Indian River" is Terry and Monica Darlington's follow-up work to their "Narrow Dog to Carcassonne," published in 2005. These books detail the Darlington's adventures aboard their English narrowboat The Phyllis May with their whippet Jim, in the first book motoring their way through English and French canals with a crossing of the English Channel in between, in the second traveling down the U.S Intercoastal Waterway. Terry Darlington,just seventy at the start of the book, is crusty and idiosyncratic and at times very funny in his writing, quite British in his outlook, at times fairly caustic regarding absurdities he encounters on these travels. If you like this sort of writing--somewhat in the tradition of Paul Theroux and Bill Bryson but on a smaller scale--these are terrific books which we thoroughly enjoyed. We look forward to reading the Darlington's next adventures.
LuneOmbre More than 1 year ago
Being boater, being possessed by a dog, and having travelled the Midi Canal in a narrow boat myself, I was immediately drawn to the first book, "Narrow Dog to Carcassonne". I thoroughly enjoyed that book and was not disappointed by the sequel, "Narrow Dog to Indian River". The story of Terry and Monica Darlington and their dog, JIM, traveling along the Intercostal Waterway in an English narrow boat is as unique as is their mode of travel. Their self-deprecating sense of humor and personal viewpoint give the story a wonderfully eccentric point of view. This is a funny, lighthearted travel story, describing their adventures the water and on the shore and recounting their impressions of the people, weather, climate and geography, all in good humor. If you like boats, or waterways, or people, or dogs, or the South, you will enjoy this book. My greatest disappointment of this book is shared by the first; the story ended too soon. It was so much fun! I am eagerly, awaiting the next chapter!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NPR had recommended this book for summer reading; I can't believe what a poor choice this book is. The book is insulting to the South and to the people who populate its coastline. The author spends most of the book complaining about the weather. Most travellers do research about that sort of thing before the head out on a long trip. The people opened up their homes and hearts to the author and his wife and yet he used derogatory terms to describe them. I believe in some cases the difference in perception is due to the differences in our sense of humor, but frankly I couldn't force myself to finish the book.