Night of the Scoundrel: a Devils of Dover novella

Night of the Scoundrel: a Devils of Dover novella

by Kelly Bowen

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

From award-winning author Kelly Bowen comes an enchanting historical short story perfect for fans of Grace Burrowes, Sarah MacLean, and Tessa Dare.
Can he trust her with his darkest secret?

Ruthless. Dangerous. Known simply as King. No one knows his true name or where he came from. And when he learns that the man who betrayed him has returned to London, King has only one goal: vengeance. But first, he must seek out an unlikely ally to aide him in his pursuit...

Adeline Archambault is as mysterious as she is beautiful. Exiled after the French Revolution, she's determined to reclaim her birthright and deliver the justice that is owed her. King's offer to help her, in exchange for her assistance, is a bargain she can't refuse. But will this deal with a devil lead to a future she never dared hope for?

40,000 words

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781538700617
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 11/26/2019
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 6,531
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

RITA-award winning author Kelly Bowen grew up in Manitoba, Canada. She attended the University of Manitoba and earned a Master of Science degree in veterinary physiology and endocrinology. But it was Kelly's infatuation with history and a weakness for a good love story that led her down the path of historical romance. When she is not writing, she seizes every opportunity to explore ruins and battlefields. Currently, Kelly lives in Winnipeg with her husband and two boys, all of whom are wonderfully patient with the writing process. Except, that is, when they need a goalie for street hockey.
Learn more: www.kellybowen.netTwitter @kellybowen09Facebook.com/AuthorKellyBowen

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Night of the Scoundrel: a Devils of Dover novella 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Historical_Romance_Lover 3 days ago
Adeline is determined to gain back what her family lost in the French Revolution. So when the man known as Kings asks for her services, she demands that he get her former home back for her. She is stunned when he agrees. King is fascinated by Adeline from the moment he lays eyes on her. When he learns what she does for a living, he asks for her help to bring down the man that changed his life forever. Working together to bring the man down, brings these two together. While both are drawn to the other, neither one ever lets anyone get close to them. Will they let their barriers down to find an everlasting love? I absolutely adored King and Adeline's story!! I loved watching these two together. The chemistry between them practically leapt off the page! I was so happy to see King finally get his HEA! While this is a part of the Devils of Dover series, you will get to visit some of your favorites from the Season for Scandal series.
pinkcowlandreads 7 days ago
The Alpha hero has a heart! After seeing King, lord of London’s underworld pop up throughout the Devils of Dover series and cause trouble for our heroes and heroines, its nice to see his backstory. King rules with an iron fist and lets no one in his inner circle. When you trust, that’s when you are the weakest… Miss Adeline Archarbault is not a stranger to loss and feeling powerless. Now a highly skilled vengeance maker, perhaps she can help King find the solace he needs and thaw his frozen heart… This was a fast paced novella that grabs you from the beginning. I love a good story of the heartless badboy finding redemption and love, and King is the poster boy! This was an enjoyable read and has inspired me to look beeping in Kelly Bowen’s backlist to find the story of Kings friend Ashland! (A Duke to Remember). I like how this novella wraps up the Devils of Dover series by tying up this last characters loose end. Night of the Scoundrel by Kelly Bowen was released November 26th, 2019. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Forever (Grand Central Publishing) through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own. #NightoftheScoundrel #KellyBowen #NetGalley #pinkcowlandreads
Synergy 8 days ago
This is such a meaty novella! I loved that it also has an element of surprise. I was not expecting such a great love story, filled with a characters I have been longing to learn more about. I cannot say enough good things about this one. It is unquestionably a must read. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
georgia1 9 days ago
The enigmatic King takes the stage in this new addition to the Devils of Dover series. As you may have read from many of the reviews, his story was long in coming, but well worth the wait. One of my favorite hero's... dark, mysterious, ruthless, but with a past that breaks your heart because you know this is a soul that needs to find love and acceptance or as near to that as possible. He finds it in his female counterpart, Adeline Archambault. Deadly, take no prisoners and with that outer layer of armour just as King. As these two come together, a combustable spark ignites and it may be like has found like and there may be a chance at a road to happiness if that is possible. Amazing, intriguing, dark and romantic while keeping me riveted to the pages. What more can you ask for? Perfect. Lori D
Darlene491 10 days ago
I voluntarily read and reviewed an advance copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. Night Of The Scoundrel, by Kelly Bowen, is available at booksellers on 11-26-19, just in time for the holiday weekend. Scoundrel is a novella, 3.5, in The Devils Of Dover series, but works well as a stand alone. It's always helpful to have the full background of characters in a series but not necessary. I've given Scoundrel a, rare for me, 5 stars. Ms Bowen gave me an adventure, mystery story with romance as a side story. I love it. Not too much sex, and what there is happens between two consenting of age adults with experience. No virgins here. I'm drawn to anti-hero male characters. Their redemption is always a blast to read. They get their comeuppance, delivered by a loving female. King is just such a man. He's called the king of the underworld and it fits. Smuggler is only one of his job titles. He's got plenty of reason to be a closed off, unemotional person. I won't tell you why, you have to read the story. He's complicated and yet when you peel back the layers he's a mess like everyone else. I became invested in his journey and that's the sign of a good book. Our heroine, Adeline Archlambault, was more difficult to like. I did like that she works to right wrongs. She's a pistol and very good at what she does. She went from cold to hot a little quick for me. She's complicated too, and I'm left with the feeling that she needs her own novella. What we're told of her life is interesting and would make a good tale. Adeline and King remind me of an old joke. How do two porcupines make love? Carefully. These two are porcupines. #Netgalley #KellyBowen #NightOfTheScoundrel #TheDevilsOfDover #HachetteBookGroup #HistoricalRomance
MoniqueD 10 days ago
Kelly Bowen did it! She totally did it! If you have been waiting for King's story for years, as I had, fear not and grab this amazing book as soon as you can! The dangerous, mysterious, enigmatic King, the "lord of London's underworld", who solves problems when others can't, gets you what you want, and demands a steep price for it. Now King has met his match, Adeline Archambault - Adrestia - the "goddess of retribution"; she gives people peace of mind and revenge. King has one unresolved issue and Adeline will help him; this he cannot do alone. NIGHT OF THE SCOUNDREL starts out with a bang with the introduction of the magnificent Adeline, and the story continues in the same fashion to the perfect conclusion. As much as I wanted King's story, I was afraid some things would change, but Kelly Bowen stayed faithful to the character while providing us with his horrifying backstory, which made him the man he is. The atmosphere remains as dark as it had been every time King appeared in a novel, where danger and secrets lurk around every corner, and few are to be trusted. This is not a story for the faint of heart; King's world is a brutal one, so is Adeline's. They are extraordinary characters, beautifully fleshed out, lethally seductive, ideally suited to each other, and their romance is entirely convincing. Their attraction is visceral, powerful; the romance evolves exactly as it should have. The writing is impeccable, flowing and eloquent; the dialogues meaningful and deep; the descriptions vibrant; and every emotion - from tenderness to passion to murderous rage - expressed in startling clarity. I had hoped that Ms. Bowen would give King a satisfactory story, and she went above and beyond: NIGHT OF THE SCOUNDREL is epic, spectacular, phenomenal. It was well worth the wait; I am ecstatic! If you don't know the fabulous King, it's high time to meet him.