One Minute Later

One Minute Later

by Susan Lewis

Paperback

$15.29 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.29, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, June 25

Overview

International bestselling author Susan Lewis’ riveting, unforgettable novel of a woman whose life changes in an instant and the handsome young man with whom she shares a secret history—perfect for readers of Diane Chamberlain, Jodi Picoult and Susan Wiggs.

How well do you know the people you love? For one young woman returning to the past, the answer could be heart-shattering...

Vivi Shager is living her dream. Raised with drive and ambition by a resolutely single mother, Vivi has a thriving law career, a gorgeous apartment in London, and a full calendar that keeps her busy at work and at play. Then on the day of her twenty-seventh birthday, an undiagnosed heart condition sends Vivi’s prospects for the future into a tailspin. After escaping her roots nearly a decade ago, she’s forced to return to her childhood home to be cared for by her devoted and enigmatic mother. Vivi has always known the woman is hiding something and now she’s determined to find out what it is. Though her condition makes her fragile and vulnerable and she’s afraid of what may happen, her spirit remains strong. Then comes an unexpected ray of light.

Josh Raynor, a local veterinarian who his sisters claim is too handsome for his own good, brings a forbidden love to Vivi’s world. Josh and Vivi are soon inseparable, unaware of the past their families share. All Vivi knows is that Josh is wrestling with a demon of his own…

Then quite suddenly the awful truth is staring Vivi in the face and it changes everything.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062906564
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/11/2019
Pages: 512
Sales rank: 100,552
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Susan Lewis is the internationally bestselling author of more than forty books across the genres of family drama, thriller, suspense, and crime. She is also the author of Just One More Day and One Day at a Time, the moving memoirs of her childhood in Bristol during the 1960s. Following periods of living in Los Angeles and the South of France, she currently lives in Gloucestershire with her husband, James; stepsons, Michael and Luke; and mischievous dogs, Coco and Lulu.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

One Minute Later: A Novel 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
bookchickdi 8 days ago
As I began to read Susan Lewis' novel, One Minute Later, I wasn't very excited. Another story about a young, beautiful, hugely successful lawyer who lives in a fabulous apartment in London. But then 27 year-old Vivi is rushed to a hospital when she has some kind of medical episode during her birthday party with friends. Unbeknownst to her, Vivi has a serious congenital heart condition and needs a heart transplant. Vivi moves back home to her mother's house in a small town in England. She and her mom have a strianed relationship; nothing Vivi's mom Gina says or does is right, and Gina criticizes Vivi. But now Vivi must rely on Gina and her best friends Michelle and Sam to care for her. Things look very bleak for Vivi. She is weak, frequently bedridden, and the chances of her finding a heart for transplant are low. She becomes depressed. Then she meets Josh, Sam's best friend and a local veternarian. Vivi knows she shouldn't get involved with Josh, it is unfair to both of them, but she enjoys his company and they begin to spend a lot of time together. Vivi's story is interspersed with Shelley's story from 1985. Shelley and her husband Jack inherit a dilapidated farm, and with the help of family and friends, they bring the farm back to working order and begin to raise their three children there. They struggle financially, but are a loving family. While reading, I was wondering how these two stories would intersect, and when you get the answer, it is a surprise. Lewis' leads the reader in one direction, and then she skillfully takes the story another way. Author Lewis includes a real person in this emotionally powerful story, Jim Lynskey, a young man in England who founded the Save9Lives campaign to get people to sign up to be organ donors. Lynskey himself needs a heart transplant and he befriends Vivi in this story. In addition to being a love story with a mystery, One Minute Later educates the reader about the importance of organ donation and the reality of life while waiting for a transplant. She also brought to life the hard work it takes to make a living farming. I'm always happy when a book surpasses my expectations, and Susan Lewis' One Minute Later certainly did that. I recommend it.
mamalovestoread22 9 days ago
At the age of twenty seven Vivienne is right where she wants to be, spending her days as a lawyer, and her evenings with her friends enjoying life. But in the blink of an eye, everything in her life changes, while out for drinks with friends she suffers a heart-attack, which turns her perfect life into shambles. With her health causing her to have to walk away from her career for a while she decides to invest in time into looking for answers about her past, mainly finding her birth father. Which takes her home to live with her mother for a spell, and puts her onto the path of meeting a handsome veterinarian. She went home to find answers, and it unexpectedly brought her the chance at love... but with her failing health she's not sure if it's worth the risk. One Minute Later is wonderfully crafted tale that shines a light on the importance of organ donation, and makes you think about how life can change in an instant. This eye opening tale was captivating and heartfelt, you couldn't help but feel for this woman and all she was going through. Her journey was an emotional one for me, having me near tears one moment, and cheering her on in the next. She was an absolute fighter with an indomitable spirit. There was also a bit of suspense thrown in there too, when it came to her father and the secrets her mother was keeping, which gave the story an unpredictable feel too. I enjoyed this newest offering from Ms. Lewis, it was enlightening, heartfelt, suspenseful, and kept me enthralled from start to finish! Highly recommend! I requested an advanced copy of this title from Edelweiss and I am voluntarily leaving my honest opinion.