Our Last Goodbye

Our Last Goodbye

by Shirley Dickson

Paperback

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

From the USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of The Orphan Sisterscomes a poignant and heart-wrenching WWII story of family, secrets, and a love to survive the impossible — for readers of Natasha Lester and Pam Jenoff!



England, 1943: When twenty-five-year-old May Robinson's mother is tragically killed one foggy night, May is heartbroken and terrified. She isn't sure she has the strength to harbor the secret they have kept for so many years-the secret her mother devoted her life to hiding. The secret that would tear their broken family even further apart.


Instead, May vows to make her mother proud by training to be a nurse at Edgemoor General Hospital in South Shields. Surrounded by wailing air-raid sirens and the eternal drone of enemy planes, May tends wounded, ashen-faced soldiers. Working tirelessly alongside her is kindhearted Richard Bentley. May is immediately drawn to his sparkling brown eyes and the way he makes her laugh.


Among the death and despair, May and Richard become beacons of hope for each other-but May wonders why he isn't fighting in the war like the thousands of other brave young men. Yet May, longing to escape her past, has kept her own secret hidden from Richard. As the peril and uncertainty around them grows, she finds herself asking: How well do they really know each other? And with the war coming closer to home, May cannot keep her shocking truth from coming to light . . .

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781538703731
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 12/08/2020
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 222,948
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Shirley Dickson lives under the big skies of Northumberland, United Kingdom with her husband, family, and lucky black cat. She wrote her first short story at the age of ten for a childrens' magazine competition. She didn't win but was hooked on writing for a lifetime. For many years she wrote poetry and short stories and got many rejection slips. Shirley decided to get serious about writing novels when she retired. She signed with Bookouture in 2018 for a two-book deal. She has written two stirring WWII historical novels. Shirley says she is a prime example of "never give up on your dream."

Customer Reviews