Reese (Rock Creek Six Series #1)

Reese (Rock Creek Six Series #1)

by Lori Handeland


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


Reese (Rock Creek Six Series #1) by Lori Handeland

" . . .the beginning of what promises to be a marvelous series. Bring on the next five Rock Creek men!"
Romantic Times

If you liked the Magnificent Seven, you'll love the Rock Creek Six!

Six elite Confederate soldiers band together after the War Between the States, hiring out their guns to protect lawless towns. Violence is all they know, until they make their way to Rock Creek, Texas.

Mary McKendrick, a headstrong schoolteacher who wants nothing more than to find a home, takes charge when a band of ruffians attempts to destroy Rock Creek. With very few men left in town following the war, Mary hires Reese, the mysterious and reluctant leader of a band of guns for hire.

Reese is haunted by the war and all he did during it. The only constant in his life are the five men willing to come whenever he calls them. They will do anything for each other; they are all they have left.

Though Mary prides herself on managing everyone and anything, she can't manage Reese or her feelings for him. Reese doesn't believe he is worthy of loyalty and devotion; he certainly isn't worthy of love. Can Mary teach him differently?

Reese is the first book in the six book Rock Creek Six series, written alternately by RITA Award Winning and New York Times Bestselling authors, Lori Handeland and Linda Winstead Jones. If you enjoyed the movie "The Magnificent Seven" or the novels of Linda Lael Miller and Jodi Thomas, give Reese a try!

Series Order:
Reese by Lori Handeland
Sullivan by Linda Winstead Jones
Rico by Lori Handeland
Jed by Linda Winstead Jones
Nate by Lori Handeland
Cash by Linda Winstead Jones

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780991395514
Publisher: Lori Handeland
Publication date: 05/15/2014
Series: Rock Creek Six Series , #1
Pages: 284
Sales rank: 938,173
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.64(d)

About the Author

Lori Handeland sold her first romance novel in 1993. Since then she has written many novels, novellas and short stories in multiple genres--historical, contemporary, series, paranormal romance, urban fantasy, historical fantasy and women's fiction.

She has been nominated five times for the RITA Award from Romance Writers of America, winning twice, for Best Paranormal and Best Long Series Contemporary. She is a USA Today and New York Times bestselling author.

As well as writing many series-The Nightcreature Novels, The Phoenix Chronicles, The Shakespeare Undead Duet, The Luchettis, the Rock Creek Six and Sisters of the Craft-she has also written numerous stand alone novels. Lori wrote the gritty, sensual western historical romance series, Once Upon a Time in the West, under the name Lori Austin.

Lori's next release will be her debut women's fiction novel, Just Once. The story of two women who love one man, how their lives intertwine over four decades and how they come together to give him the best death that they can. Available in the UK September, 30, 2018 and in the US/Canada January 1, 2019.

Lori lives in Southern Wisconsin with her husband, enjoying long walks with their rescue mutt, Arnold, and visits from her grown sons and her perfectly adorable grandson.

She can be reached through her website at

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Reese 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters were many and varied in personalities to spice up the story and create great a desire to continue reading the sequel s.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Short and sweet but nicely written
kronan1 More than 1 year ago
The Sexy Six................................................................................................................................... First in the series and a great start. Can Mary make Reese face his past and be all that he can be. Can Reese seduce the spinster school teacher and bring out her inner woman. Are you kidding? Highly recommend.
Anonymous 28 days ago
This is the beginning of a fantastic series. Can't wait for next book.????????????????????????????????????????????? Keep writing please.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great western with troubled pasts and chivalrous actions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Throughly entertaining. Thoroughly entertaining. Enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Six hard men who have fought together through war and beyond are paid to come to Rock Creek to deal with El Diablo and his gang. All of the men have secrets they have never shared though they have been together for at least seven years. This is the introductory book of the series and tells the story of Mary and Reese. Mary is the schoolteacher and seems to have more gumption than anyone else in town. She wants to stay in Rock Creek and is willing to use her hard earned money to remove the threat of the banditos that come too often to town. Reese was a Confederate soldier and is haunted by his experiences. The story of their meeting, getting to know one another and growing close is fun to read. Neither have expectations but both care more than they are willing to share. The other five men are introduced just enough to make me want to read more about them and find out what their secrets are and who will manage to make them whole. I have only read this book in the series and truly enjoyed it. I have found out through looking online that the books in this series are written by two authors that alternate with each writing three books in the series. Thank you to NetGalley and Night Shift Publishing for the copy of this book to read and review. 4.5 Stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago